My Reviews (50)

Roasted Asparagus and Yellow Capsicum Salad

Roasted asparagus, red onion and yellow capsicum are tossed with a spicy mustard and garlic dressing.
Reviews (50)


09 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: YESMAMJULIE
I roasted other vegetables too, and mixed everything with the dressing. Dressing was kind of spicy! Maybe I used more than a teaspoon of hot sauce? Very good, though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: KTWhite
I used a bit too much olive oil when roasting and too much dressing, so my salad was a little oily. Next time I will be more carfeul. However, the flavors are wonderful and this will be a new staple in my recipe collection!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
I wish I had listened to LoosenUp & stuck w/ the original roasting time but I cooked them a little longer than called for ... Yep, they were overdone. Still tasty but no longer al dente. I used a red pepper becasue that's what I had & I sliced it imto strips instead of chopping it. I used a vidalia onion, thinly sliced (I did not roast the onion) & I cut wayyy back on the oil in the vinaigrette. I did add more lime juice & also decreased the mustard some. Very nice cold salad! the roasting really brought out the flavor in the veggies. I served thsi w/ Amy's Garlic Egg Chicken (from this site)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: KJ
Great new way to eat asparagus. I grilled the asparagus and yellow pepper on the grill, which added some great char flavor to the salad. I also toasted the almonds in a pan with some butter. I didn't measure out the dressing ingredients, but I added less mustard (I don't like mustard) and probably a little more lime juice than stated in the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: jenine_fraser
Very Good. Like previous reviews, I found that this recipe had too much oil. Next time I would use only half as much. I also used jalapeno peppers instead of the hot sauce. It was excellent. I would definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2006
Reviewed by: sserra
This is my first review of a recipe on this site. I read other reviews and roasted the red onions along with the asparagus, red and yellow peppers. It was awesome. My husband and 3 year old daughter loved it. I will try to grill the veggies next time. The dressing was yummy- only a few dashes of hot sauce so my daughter could enjoy it as well. Will use the dressing for a regular salad as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: CrystalGayle
Forgot the Parmesean and never missed it! This is a great way to get me eating asparagus. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2015
Reviewed by: Amber
This is so good. I would make the dressing just to eat on salads. I did cut all the oil way down. I just gently misted the asparagus and yellow peppers before roasting them. I also only used 1/8 cup of oil instead of the 1/2 cup it called for. We loved all the different flavors and hot sauce was just enough heat for us. It does make a LOT of dressing, for the amount of asparagus and peppers called for, so next time I would only make 1/2 the amount of dressing or double up on my veggies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2014
Reviewed by: kaye patterson wolf
I surprised my pot luck friends by bringing this salad to our Memorial Day gathering other than my usual carbohydrate laden dishes. It went over well. I tweaked it a bit as did those in the other reviews. Less olive oil, roasted the onion with the asparagus & peppers (used a red & yellow) and went easy on the hot sauce. I will make this again for family as it is quick, easy and tasty. I wish I would have taken a picture, it is a beautiful dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: ladypink
What a fantastic salad! Thank you. Roasted the almonds in the oven for 9 minutes while the asparagus and peppers baked for 18 minutes total time. Husband raved about this salad and he doesn't usually like asparagus or bell peppers. He absolutely LOVED this salad and ate leftovers the next day. Great recipe. It's a must try and really easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes