My Reviews (79)

My Favourite Apple Crumble

This crumble is packed with apples and has a buttery oat crumble topping. The house smells great when it's cooking!
Reviews (79)


03 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: naples34102
No wonder this is a family favorite Sudie B - this is an excellent apple crisp that in my mind is just right as is. No tweaking necessary - that means no changes at all. I particularly like the "butterscotchy" flavor the brown sugar and butter contribute, and if you use a sweet apple, as I did, the lemon juice is necessary to tame that down a bit. I couldn't be more pleased to give this a 5-star rating.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Jillian
I LOVE apple crisp and this was no exception! It quickly became a "family favorite" in this house. It's staightforward recipe that produces a delicious result with the perfect balance of apples to topping. I served this warm with vanilla ice cream and whipped topping - YUM! Thank for a great recipe Sudie B!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: Deb Thomas
This recipe results in a perfect, classic apple crisp. Nothing needs to be "tweaked", added, subtracted or substituted. I took this apple crisp to a senior's centre party at which I volunteered, and it disappeared within minutes. Anyone who wanted second was disappointed. Lovely recipe. Sudie. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Lisa
This is delicious as is - no changes needed. Next time I'll add some chopped walnuts to the topping for a little extra crunch but otherwise a definite keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: sassyoldlady
Made this for Recipe Group. I halved the recipe and made an 8x8 pan. Very easy, simple to put together, with an excellent crispy crunchy topping. Best eaten warm, the same day or the next. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: Tamara Angelis
Amazing! The best apple crisp I've ever tasted. Thank you for such a simple and tasty recipe. This will be the only apple crisp I make from now on.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: robyn
Delicious! It was a little too salty for my taste so I would only use 1/2 tsp salt the next time. I used room temperature butter which made my topping clump instead of crumble! But all in all it was very good and I would definitely make it again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Molly
Recipe Group Selection: 27, September 2014 ~ I made a 3-serving size of this for my husband. He enjoyed it best warmed with a big helping of homemade whipped topping. It is very quick to put together with ingredients I usually have on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: Janet Shum
Scrumptious!! Excellent served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!!Thanks for sharing!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: Danielle
When my sister was pregnant she was trying to reduce her sugar intake so I began making this recipe (instead of "Apple Crisp II" from this site, which is my usual go-to). This recipe is perfect as written. It is not as sweet at other apple crisp recipes but is very tasty! Best served warm with a dollop of vanilla ice cream. I have used a few extra apples (9 granny smith) with same amount of topping, its perfect. I also bake for 45+ min, not 30, otherwise apples will still be crunchy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes