My Reviews (24)

Potato Salad with Vinaigrette

The vinaigrette dressing for this potato salad is made with beef consomme, tarragon vinegar and vegetable oil.
Reviews (24)


13 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: Mary Ann Martina
I've been making a variation on this for over 30 years from a Julia Child recipe. It's a refreshing change from a heavy mayonnaise-based salad; the flavor of potato really comes through, and it stands up well on a picnic or potluck table. Red or Yukon Gold potatoes are a must. I've always used chicken broth (1/2 cup for 3 pounds potatoes), a good olive oil, cider vinegar (I cannot abide tarragon), and I prefer a mild white or sweet onion. I've sometimes added things such as hard-cooked eggs, olives, dill pickle, pimiento, celery, or crumbled bacon: whatever suits your fancy! Best at room temperature.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: luvtoride1
My husband doesn't like potatoe salad with mayonnaise. This was great he loved it! I substituted sweet onion for green onion. Will definetly make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2018
Reviewed by: SuperJ6
I made this yesterday and it turned out pretty well. I didn't change the recipe but I did have to use dried parsley instead of fresh. I think I missed out on a big flavor hit. Despite that, the dressing was very flavorful but I have to agree with the other reviewers that the oil component needs to be reduced. It would also be helpful to have a rough weight on the potatoes. I used red potatoes and it might be useful to recommend using waxy potatoes versus russets. This is a good recipe and I completely agree with rating the recipe as it appears instead of adding tweaks and additions and then rating that version. ChristyJ, if you have anymore French inspired recipes, please continue to post. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2018
Reviewed by: Michelle
Back in 1985, we lived near the Summerhill "5 Thieves" market (mid town Toronto ON). Our favorite potato salad was very close to this one. I loved the dressing. I was surprised by the beef broth ingredient - surprisingly, it works and makes for a delicious addition to this dressing. The recipe is perfect except I wanted to replicate the Oliffe Butcher's famed potato salad. I added artichokes, red, green and yellow peppers, black olives and red onion. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2018
Reviewed by: Barry
This is one of my favorites. I serve it with grilled lime, tarragon chicken thighs. It’s one recipe that will elevate you to rockstar status with guests. More often than not I end up sending both recipes home.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: Marta Simmons
This was delicious with bratwurst on the grill. I didn't have tarragon vinegar so I used red wine vinegar and added thyme from my garden. We ate it while still a bit warm so I can only imagine how good it will be tomorrow.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: J Damian
Lovely, delicate flavors, delicious. I did not have tarragon vinegar so used white vinegar with dried tarragon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2016
Healthiest recipe for potato salad. Served it at a party and it was a big hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: Jim Lachowicz
Sorry, this was not my favorite. Way too much oil for my taste. I like the German style (with vinegar) but this was too oily for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: Sandra G
It is quite nice eaten warm as well as cold. Make sure you use the right sort of potatoes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes