My Reviews (44)

Pickled Eggs with Garlic

These tasty pickled eggs are great to keep around as a snack. For red eggs, use beetroot juice instead of water.
Reviews (44)


29 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: JASON7
Verry tasty eggs I did three things different though. 1. I used minced garlic 2. I used red wine vinager 3. I added a teaspoon of dill weed My 12 yr old who swore she would never eat a pickeled egg ended up eating them all on me. So now I need to make more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2007
Reviewed by: I phill hungry
Made these for my bar. Have used different recipes for making pickled eggs, but chose this one because of the addition of red onions. After about 2 days the onions turned white. I made a few changes, used almost a pure vinegar mixture, added fresh jalapenos, and added pepper corns.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: docswife
My husband loves pickled eggs and wanted to make his own at home. We waited the full week before trying these. They were very tasty. We did add a pinch of dill and some pickling spice. Also used red onion and smashed garlic cloves. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: HOGGWILD89
Adjusted the vinager/water to 1 3/4 vinager and 1/4c water. Cut the sugar in half. Added pickling spices and some fresh hot cherry peppers (diced) and ZOWIE! This is a keeper. I doubled the recipe and use an old gallon pickle jar stuffed with as many eggs as we can stuff into it. Awesome. ps, someone suggested coarse chopping garlic, I think we will do that on the next batch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: C.L.BOUCHER
This is the best pickled egg recipie yet!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2006
Reviewed by: TINALLLL
I have made these a few times with just a few changes. I double up on the vinegar, add 1 tsp pickling salt, 2 Tbsp pickling spice, and a dried chilli pepper to spice it up a bit. We love them, and I have shared the recipe with many friends. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: RACHEL1070
This was good. Hard for me to rate because I have nothing to compare it to, as I have never had pickled eggs. I make my hard boiled eggs different that what is stated. I put the eggs in a pan covered with cold water. I bring the water to a boil, remove the pan from the heat, cover and let sit 20 minutes. After 20 minutes run cold water over the eggs until water in the pan is replaced with cold water. Let eggs soak in cold water until the eggs are cold. I have never had eggs stick to the shell making them this way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: JoyLee
We have sandwich night alot so I thought Id try this one out. I added a bit more garlic than what it calls for and a pinch of kosher salt. Was great!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2010
Reviewed by: Cheri
Wonderful!!! Used red wine vinegar, shallots instead of onions, crushed garlic out of a jar, and added a tablespoon full of whole black pepper corns. Making 2 more batches to put in the fridge!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2001
Reviewed by: DANSERBEE
Good base flavor, but needs a little "something"...maybe some pickling spices? Salt? Still, enjoyable.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes