My Reviews (50)

Alfajores, Argentinean Style

This is a traditional biscuit that is much loved in most Latin cultures. Even my mother-in-law says they're the BEST, and that is saying a lot considering she is from Argentina!
Reviews (50)


20 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: grubber
Hi Chris, I actually had a question about this recipe - is it really 2 1/2 CUPS of cornstarch? Or is that supposed to be teaspoons? Just checking as I really want to make these cookies! Thanks. Val
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: ann
It is nice to see more latinamerican recipes on this site. My father is Argentinian, and of course we are big fans of alfajores (specially the Havanna brand). I would only suggest adding tangerine zest to the cookie dough, as in some traditional argentinian recipes. Other recipes call for using cooked egg yolks in the dough. Also if you don't have original dulce de leche, you can make a very similar one by boiling a can of condensed sugared milk during at least 2 hours, but BEWARE: cool off completely before opening!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Gumby
Really good recipe, loved them, just like I used to get in Argentinean bakery. I had the same problem as a previous reviewer that they would crumble like sand when I would try to get them on the cookie sheet to bake. I added 1/4 cup butter and 2 more egg yokes and it was perfect (I used Large eggs, maybe with Jumbo, the 3 the recipe would have called for would be fine). I also followed other reviewers suggestions instead of using all lemon I did 1/2 of the lemon extract and zest and then the other 1/2 orange extract and zest. I had no vanilla rum, so I just mixed 1/2 rum and 1/2 vanilla. I used sweetened coconut, I think it tastes better. When I take something to parties, I like taking something different, usually something that I grew up eating, this time it was the alfajores and they were a hit! Thank you for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: sillycooks
Very good! The best dulce de leche is "Conaprole" brand. You can find this in a argentinean bakery or uruguayan bakery. This tastes just like my mother's alfajores....She's, of course, from Argentina.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Alex
I am Bolivian so we make our own version of alfafores. I followed this recipe exactly except for the rum. Made it for a preschool/culture day. The kids gobbled it. My family loved it. Doubled the recipe. Only lasted a day. Only downside is that they took forever (a couple hours)! Will try rolling/cutting on parchment paper next time and cooking it right on there so I don't have to transfer!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: iceemama
I too had trouble with the dough being sandy. I managed to get them pressed together with much difficulty. I decided to just bake 6 and see how it went. When I baked, cooled and tried to ice those 6 with the dulce de leche, they crumbled. I added one extra egg yolk and a litte water to the remaining dough. With those additions, the dough worked fine. They tasted delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: ALEJANDRA CASTILLO
I loved it the only thing is that I added 1/2cup more of butter and 1 more egg but they are really grate
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: guatmom
Just made these for our friends who are from Argentina...they said they taste just like home! Excellent recipe, thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Lisa
With a few modifications, this is really a great recipe. My Argentine husband loves them and I've made them 4 times now, adjusting to my perfection. I use 2 1/2 c. Flour and 1 2/3 c. Corn starch (just switched the amount from the original recipe). And yes, that is CUPS of corn starch. Alfajores are not meant to be too cakey and should be kind of dense. I also used 4 whole eggs instead of 3 egg yolks, this may change depending on the egg size you use. If the dough isn't holding together when pressed, add egg or your cookies will be a crumbly mess coming out of the oven. For the dulce de leche, which I can't find near me, I buy sweetened condensed milk 14 oz and make it in the microwave. Just repeat 30second heating and stirring, the milk will brown and stiffen up, go by texture for when to stop, it should be workable not runny, and you'll want to make the dulce de leche just before spreading it, because it will continue to stiffen a little. Be sure to buy two cans of milk if it's your first time, I went by color on my first batch , overcooked it and ended up with a bowl of hard caramel that took two days to soak out! How you do the vanilla/vanilla rum is not too important, I use amaretto in place of vanilla rum and like the flavor. Same for the lemon, I don't like the strong flavor of lemon extract but they should taste a little lemony, I use lemon juice instead. After sandwiching them, I cover them in chocolate or powdered sugar like Havanas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Deb A
these are so good! I found them very easy to make and yummy to eat. A new favorite at our house.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes