My Reviews (51)

Banana Dulce de Leche Pie (Banana-Caramel Pie)

Slow cooking turns sweetened condensed milk into a sensational caramel-flavored sauce that's popular in Latin American cooking. Combine it with sliced bananas in a graham cracker pie crust and top with whipped cream to enjoy a dreamy dessert.
Reviews (51)


26 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: alytholen
So the final product wasn't too bad, but making it became a disaster! I followed the directions and put the condensed milk in a sauce pan and filled it with water half way up the can and boiled it for 3 hrs...well I ended up with half a can of dark carmel (over cooked) and half a can condensed milk. I tried putting it all in a saucepan and mixing it all together and that worked somewhat. It was burned in some places, but I still served it! Everyone said it tasted fine, but it could have been better, my suggestion...boil can in water with can completely submerged, and only boil for 2-2and 1/2 hrs. That might work better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: JustAnja
I make a very similar recipe, and you can buy the condensed milk already caramalized in the can in the mexican/latin foods section in most grocery stores. MUCH MUCH easier this way! I whip one of these pies up in no time this way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: LEEKY_BEE
A similar recipe is known as Banoffi (or Banoffee) pie in the UK and was reputedly created at the Hungry Monk restaurant in Jevington, East Sussex in 1971. Their recipe requires the condensed milk to be boiled fully submerged for 5 hours. Originally it was served on a pastry crust. However I use digestive biscuits crushed and mixed with butter for the base, which I assume is similar to the graham base in US, but I don't cook this - simply cool in fridge before topping with the dulce and bananas. 3/4 pint cream is whipped with 1tsp sugar and 1/2tsp instant coffee. p.s. in UK pre-made dulce de leche is now available by the maker of a popular brand of condensed milk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Tiffer258
Great easy recipe! I submerged the can in boiling water and kept the can covered with water the whole 3 hours and it came out perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: windy1217
This is a great easy recipe, lay the unopened can on its side and boil for 3 hours, turns out perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2008
Reviewed by: Cindy Mancini
This pie was very good. If you can't stand the clattering sound of the can boiling, lay it on its side. Next time, I'll use two cans of condensed milk because the caramel was everybody's favorite part.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: EBDENMAR
After reading another review, I flipped my can over every time I added more water to my pot. Very good and very rich!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Desiree
This was very good . Made it for a crowd of 90.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Criss
I'm from Canada and President's Coice brand came out with a jarred dulce de leche sauce...and earlier this year they came out with a banana version and it is so yummy. i used the banana flavour and a nilla wafer crust sooo sweet but so delicious
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: v_nercessian
Just a note on how we make the caramel part. 2 cans of condensed milk totally covering in water in a pressure cooker on low heat for 40 minutes. This will save you a lot of time. Also, when opening the cans either cool before opening or if you don't want to wait cover with a towel while opening so you don't get any in your face.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes