My Reviews (14)

Tres Leches Pina Colada Cake

An easy version of the beloved tres leches cake is made with cake mix, pineapple and cream of coconut to give the cake a pina colada flavor.
Reviews (14)


03 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: brettwadelton
If you love the drink, you'll LOVE this cake!
 
05 May 2019
This was a BIG hit with our friends, all of whom had eaten traditional tres leches cake previously, including one who ate it more than once in Costa Rica. I drained the pineapple and substituted the juice for part of the water called for in the cake batter. The only other change was making a larger quantity of toasted coconut and serving it on the side, since not everyone appreciates coconut, and those who did could enjoy it to their personal taste. I will definitely make it again and will probably make it the same way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2019
I would make it again. I bought the coconut milk instead of the coconut cream. But it turned out ok.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2019
Reviewed by: erin
I barely detected the pineapple in the end product. I would have liked it to be more pineapple-y. I wasted sure how long to let the cake absorb the liquid, so I tried a piece after a few hours and it was pretty soggy. But the next day it was much better texture, so I recommend to let it sit overnight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2018
Reviewed by: Deborah
We made this for a group at our son's 24th Birthday Dinner. Everyone raved about the dessert. Our family has Latin heritage - so we like Tres Leches cake. But this is much better. It is less sweet, and just as moist! The pineapple gives is an extra special flavor. I find it so much more interesting and special than a regular Tres Leches, or a regular Birthday Cake. I searched desserts extensively on this website for something special for this dinner, and I am so glad I came across this one. I made it prettier by making a raspberry puree sauce to write the birthday greeting with his name on top of the cake, with a decoration. This cake is a winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2018
Reviewed by: Drdondur
I used Thai coconut milk, sweetenend condensed milk, and evaporated milk as my "tres leches," and the result was all the rave! Had to mass distribute my recipe (with due credit given to the starter recipes of this dish)....and now it's been voted at work that I have to bring this cake to every social occasion!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2018
Made no changes to the recipe. Everyone raved over it! The moistness and flavor were huge hits. So simple to make! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2018
Reviewed by: Dublin
It was unclear whether the pineapple should be drained . I drained it. Next time I will add more pineapple and drain it. The cake was wet enough without the extra juice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: Michele
I made this for a Mexican dessert at Taco Night at my kid's school. I cant say enough Good things about this recipe! Cans of coconut cream are now 13.75oz, instead of 15oz, but it was a perfect amount. I used a white cake mix. I added 1tsp Coconut extract to the whipping cream frosting, but didnt change anything else. This cake was so incredibly decadent, it was almost too Amazing for 'Taco Night'. THX for a 100% Awesome recipe! I cant wait to make it for Cinco de Mayo!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: dossier1013
Gluten free cake mix, reduced water to agree with box instructions. Otherwise, followed instructions. Too sweet. The cake at the bottom was very soggy, and the top didn't have any coco/milk at all. I would pour that mixture over the cake in thirds over a couple of hours to allow it to soak in in more slowly instead of running to the bottom. Probably also would squeeze the crushed pineapple dry before adding, to reduce the sweetness. I know the additional instructions advised to used coconut cream, but that might have been part of the sweetness issue. I would halve it and replace with milk next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes