My Reviews (21)

Chorizo Sausagemeat

This Mexican pork sausagemeat is delicous. It's mildy spiced and perfect for breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner. You can also use this recipe to make meatballs, if you prefer.
Reviews (21)


17 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Hazel
This recipe works wonderfully well with store-bought ground turkey. You have all of the flavor of Mexican chorizo without the fuss and extra fat. I love spicy food and this met all of my criteria. If you don't have all of the spices or have others that you would prefer to use you should still get an excellent chorizo. I give this recipe five stars!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: caguilar
I come from a family in Mexico who owned a Chorizo making Co. Many people and restraunt owners would come and flock around the business to make advanced orders, since it ran out so quickly!! My Uncle had a similar recipe but used basically all the same ingredients listed here but also used cinnamon sticks, dried chile pods, chile tepin and grounded all this ingredients in a blender till they became powdery then added the vinegar, water and olive oil. He also used half ground pork and half ground beef. It was the best Chorizo in the world. I use that same recipe handed down from generations to this day and have handed it down to my daughter and my granddaughters.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Christina
EXCELLENT! I used already ground pork and just followed the directions from there. The next day, I cooked up a small portion just to taste it and it was delicious! My little guy loved it so much that I had to cook up some more for him to eat, lol. I just divided it into approx. 1/2# portions and froze it that way, so I'll have it ready for any recipe that calls for it. I loved that this was not at all greasy like the traditional chorizo, but had all the flavor. Definitely will be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Stacey
While I didn't follow the directions - I used ground beef because I needed chorizo NOW so I just used the spice blend - which is dead on! IMHO, the cloves push this over the top - dead on! THANK YOU - can hardly wait to use this correctly from now on!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: COOKINCOWGIRLS
Used ground pork, as I am not enamoured of my new meat grinder. Sub 1 tbs. paprika and 1/2 tsp. cayenne for Aleppo.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Muttley
This is the real deal. I added a 1 teaspoon of liquid smoke.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Patricia Pool Gillogly
Where do I find Aleppo pepper?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: Valorie
Made this exactly as written, including grinding the pork. I found the Aleppo pepper on Amazon. ($12.00 for 2.5 oz.) In all honesty, I will buy ground pork next time because my Kitchen Aid grinder did NOT handle it well. My husband loved the recipe, so there will be a next time. Thank you for the recipe, James. And COOKINGCOWGIRLS, maybe freeze the meat, as I will before using the grinder next time. That seems to make a big difference, rather than just chilling it in the fridge.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2015
Reviewed by: kmtod1
I have to admit I did not use Aleppo pepper, I used ancho chili instead. I found it odd to use a middle eastern pepper in a Mexican sausage, plus with the state of Syria, Aleppo pepper is harder and harder to find. That said, I was underwhelmed with this recipe. It was too vinegary and did not achieve the depth of flavor that a great chorizo has; rich, smoky and garlicky.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Crystal
Made beef burger patties out of this. Seasonings are spot on, but next time I might reduce the amount of vinegar because mine came out a bit too tangy for me (or perhaps this was because I used apple cider vinegar instead of white?)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes