My Reviews (53)

Venison Burritos

This is a fantastic slow cooker recipe. Venison is slowly cooked with salsa, beans, sweetcorn and capsicum, then blended with cream cheese and wrapped in a flour tortilla with Cheddar.
Reviews (53)


30 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Kimberly Dahl
I really liked this recipe. At first I was scared to add the cream cheese, I thought it would get all grainy. I added it to a small scoopful though and it blended right in. I was also forced based on my cupboard to make a few substitutions: I substituted kidney beans for black beans, regular corn for mexicorn and threw in a few spare jalapeno peppers. It was still delicious! I have a hard time eating venison sometimes due to its gamey flavor--this recipe helped it along nicely. Would also be good without the tortillas as a chili.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Lori
I am the submitter of this recipe. I just want to make a couple notes. Make sure you use THREE (3) ounces of cream cheese, not the full 8 ounce block. Also, the mexican cheese blend is optional. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2009
My husband is also an avid hunter. I love that this recipe using the tough steaks because those are the only ones that I usually have trouble enjoying. This was very yummy and the whole family really enjoyed it. I will be making it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Stacy H
I had it without the shredded cheese and it was awesome. A very easy to prepare one dish meal and can feed quite a large family. One was filling enough that I didn't overeat. Quite a nice meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: stacy
O.k., I have never entertained writing a review but WOW, this was good!! I do NOT like the taste of venison, but my husband is an avid hunter, and we have a freezer full. This was really good!! The kids ate it, I would've never known, and there are NO leftovers!! Awesome recipe!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Bullfrog270
Great,very simple recipe - we omitted cream cheese and tortillas and served over rice - also used regular canned corn and added diced jalapenos - boys sill added tabasco to kick it up
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Durham1222
Excellent Recipe. I also made this with chicken as I didn't have any venison in the fridge. The chicken came out very tender. I made only a few modifications: I added one 10 oz can of mexican diced tomatoes drained and then 6 oz of salsa so as not to use up all of my salsa. I also put in regular corn but then added 2 tbs of thick gourmet salsa with a red pepper base. I added a 10 oz can of refried beans and I also used 4 oz of cream cheese as to get the consistency I wanted in the end.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: shannon
Excellent! I did use a whole package of cream cheese-still turned out delicious!! And used pinto beans,since I don't care for black beans.I will make this again:-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2011
Reviewed by: Laura Bloomer Hoerth
Great way to use round steak! I used chili beans instead of black beans and served the mixture over rice. My family liked this recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: aslundy
Easy and delicious! I followed the recipe but also added about 1/2 a pack of taco seasoning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes