My Reviews (145)

Super Nachos

Nachos are taken to new heights with this recipe. Tortilla chips are smothered in Cheddar cheese, beef mince, refried beans and jalapenos. Serve with guacamole and some shredded lettuce and you have a meal!
Reviews (145)


27 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: KEROSKAM
Yummy! I took some suggestions from the previous reviewers: I added taco seasoning to the ground beef (using Taco Seasoning recipe from this site). I spread the tortilla chips onto a cookie sheet, and baked for about 10 minutes at 350 to make them crispy. Then I just added the toppings onto that. Popped the pan back into the oven until the cheese melted, and it was done. I did not heat the refried beans first though, I wish I had, they were difficult to spread, so I just ended up plopping spoonfuls onto the chips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
Everyone enjoyed these at our Sunday night card party. I baked chips in oven for about 6-8 minutes, cooked meat with Taco seasoning as others did. I melted a 3 ounce brick of cream cheese with the beans for ease of spreading. Then topped everything with sour cream, guacamole, chopped Roma toms, minced green onions, and sliced black olives. Messy, but yummy! Thanks Charlie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
I heated my beans before putting the mixture on the chips. It helped to make it a little easier to spread. I also placed my chips in the oven before I added the ingredients to make them crispier. Once assembled I placed them back in the oven as opposed to the microwave. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
These are pretty good for something quick, but I wouldn't call them "Over the Top". The ground beef really needed some seasoning, so I used "Taco Seasoning I" from this site. I also used a Mexican blend cheese. I didn't microwave this, instead I layered everything in a 9x13 foil pan and baked it in the oven. When everything was nice and melted I prettied it up a bit by adding some shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes, black olives, chopped green onions, and a nice dollup of sour cream on top. Overall, not bad with a side of a couple sides of homemade salsa and guacamole - very filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: LITGIRL1515
Delicious. My boyfriend is a picky eater and loved these. The chips stay crispier if you bake them at 350 for 8 minutes. TRY THEM THEY ARE GREAT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: LB
Restaurant quality nachos. We added shredded lettuce, diced tomatoes, guacomole, and sour cream. It made a lot more than we anticipated, we ended up transfering it into a 9X13 pan so we could eat it more easily while watching Sunday football! We already have plans to make it again this weekend!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: erinid
Nachos are quite possibly the most fun food ever- so I can't see how anything would get a bad rating. You can adjust everything according to taste because a recipe is more like a loose guideline than a strict set of rules. At any rate- the taco seasoning on the meat was awesome- I also used pickled jalapenos, cheese, black olives and warm low fat refried beans. I served with sour cream and salsa. My husband deemed them the best nachos he's ever had! Popping the chips into the oven for a couple of minutes before topping works wonders with soggy issues.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: GINAH1
Big hit at our 4th of July BBQ!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
I seasoned my meat with taco seasoning. These are great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2001
Reviewed by: STEPHANIE S
This dish was a huge hit at a friend's pot luck Mexican night. I 've made it several times since, both for friends & family and it's always a winner. My only change to the recipe is that I always add sliced black olives.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes