My Reviews (9)

Scottish Lentil Soup

A great winter warmer, always a favourite with everyone! Makes a big pot enough for all the family, around 8 servings.
Reviews (9)


05 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: sue1951
How much lentils do we use please
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
19 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: ClaireW775
I didn't use the potatoes in this recipe, doubling the other veg instead. I also added celery, barley and pea soup mix - lovely
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
30 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Wendarina
I went back to Scotland with my 83 year old mother this October. At every chance we had we ordered the lentil soup, always been a favourite. I vowed I would find a great recipe when we returned home to Canada......this is it! Loooooove it, and have introduced it to some Canadian friends that rave about it too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: sarahloubee420
I realised once I clicked publish I forgot the lentils! Around 250g or even 300g, a level sieves worth rinsed
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
09 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: LyndaMackin
I have made this recipe a couple of times now, instead of adding any garlic I simply added some pepper. We tend to add salt and pepper in Scotland to bring out the tastes in recipes. With the ham hock being smoked there was no need to add salt. I also omitted the potatoes the second time and reduced the stock cubes to two stock pots. I have to say it taste fantastic with the little tweaks. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
08 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: gillylyon66
I made this as fancied some lentil soup and me being scottish however I have never in my life had garlic shoved in scottish lentil soup, I added it but to me it completely ruined the taste Ill stick to the recipe I always use! it was ok all the same though
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
16 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: leeb198226
Followed the recipe exactly and it was absolutely fantastic. My late mam used to make a soup just like this when we were younger but never got chance to get recipe off her. Sooo glad I come across this. Will definitely be a regular meal
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
15 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: kathleenllawrie2
Instead of turnip I used celery and added a spoonful of tomato puree. Delicious recipe, great for the whole family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
02 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: MarcoDiChio
Fantastic recipe and I made happy my Scottish partner!!! I used 500g of lentils and 1 and half beff stock instead of the joint. Perfect anyway!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes