My Reviews (151)

Sushi Rice

Good sushi rice is a perfect blend of flavour and texture. Try this recipe and get it right every time! Let the rice cool before using in your favourite sushi recipe.
Reviews (151)


01 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: THEBURKEBROOD
We just came back from living in Japan and I was craving sushi. I made this today and it was very good! I did not have the kelp but it worked out very well without it. I will use this recipe again next time I have another craving!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Miso Sushi
I made according to directions minus the konbu dried kelp and it turned out fabulous. The secret is to follow the instructions carefully-let the rice sit/dry completely etc. (do not mess with it too much) ALSO: When adding the rice vinegar mixture do not mix it in but kneed with very few strokes just until combined so the rice grains keep their integrity and do not become soft and paste like. I highly recommend this recipe...thank you for posting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2007
Excellent rice! I actually made this with Adobo chicken tonight to test it out before I make sushi and I found it to be wonderful! I did heat the rice vinegar and sugar until the sugar dissolved, The directions seemed to be missing that step or maybe it was just implied.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Merwinak
There are lots of different kinds of rice vinegar. Seasoned rice vinegar has sugar or corn syrup added. The vinegar I bought in the Asian food section of the store has no added sugar. Before you add the sugar called for in this recipe read the ingredient label to see if it has sugar. If it does you need to reduce or omit the sugar or your rice will be too sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: MILKLISSA79
Delicious! I didn't have the kelp so I omitted it. I served it warm as a side dish with sesame seared tuna. This will definitely be my new side dish for asian meals.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: KatieTries2Cook
very good! I was nervous to try and make sushi for the first time, but this rice turned out awesome. I was a lot easier to cook than i thought it would be. Over-all though-sushi is a pain! hah i'll be going out to eat for sushi next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Michelle
This makes fantastic "sticky" rice. I cut back on the sugar and vinegar a little bit to suit taste and omitted the kelp. This is exactly what I have been looking for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: AUSSIEMUM1
I thought the 3 cups was only for rinsing the rice, because it just barely covers the rice in the saucepan. It doesn't say in the written instructions how much water to add to the rice, and because I knew it would be 5 cups yield, I filled my regular saucepan up to the top with water. Well, I wasted nearly half a bag of rice. It's is so gluggy and disgusting. Too much water. It would be great if the recipe could be altered to say, "then place into a saucepan along with the konbu and 3 CUPS of water" if this is the case and you only need 3 cups. As someone who has never made sushi rice before, I have absolutely no idea if this is what you do so any help would be very much appreciated.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: caligirl1881
Absolutely delicious! I love this in sushi or simply by itself. Easy to make also. * may take more than 3-4 washes for rice water to turn up clear
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Robin Lee Starnes
Wow, thats some good sushi rice!!!! Rice has great flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes