My Reviews (1,015)

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Spread

Serve on crusty wholemeal rolls or pita bread with lettuce and tomato. Other raw vegetables can be used instead of celery.
Reviews (1015)


28 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Gallus Gurl
very good, I might try to make it in the blender like other reviewers suggested
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: mindale
This is wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: KKH3
This was very good! I had to use some substitutions: green pepper instead of celery (I'm not buying a whole bunch of celery just so I can use one stalk) and sour cream instead of mayonnaise. I also used 2 tbs of sour cream instead of 1 (the recipe seemed like it needed more than 1 tbs to hold it together) and I used the normal 15.5 oz can of chickpeas instead of 19 oz because I've never heard of a 19 oz can of chickpeas. It tasted really good and it made a lot. I put it on sandwich bread and it seemed like I could have gotten 4 or 5 sandwiches out of it instead of 3. The one problem I had with it was the onion. The flavor was way too strong. Either cut down on the onion or saute the onion first.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Isabel
Good stuff! I have made it a couple times now. It is especially good if you put some relish on the sandwich. A great alternative to that fish in a can! I wonder how it would do in a faux tuna melt?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: susiekew
Tastes good, if a little bland. Will add some hot sauce next time. The texture is not too much to my liking, so I am going blenderize the leftovers to see if that helps. A good base recipe to adapt to suit your own preferences. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Leslie Proctor Levine
Good and versatile. Also great for both veggie and tortilla chip dip.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Carrie
Delicious! Simple, easy and a nice alternative to egg salad sandwiches. I omitted the onion and added 1 big chopped dill pickle instead of fresh dill. Great for a light supper or snacks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: karessa
This is pretty good. I think the taste of the spread depends largely on the quality of the chickpeas you use.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Roobunny
Versatile and good, although mashing the chickpeas were a pain. I forgot to add the celery, drizzled in some evoo (extra virgin olive oil) and used a little less mayo. Goes well on toast with lettuce and tomato.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Mochi Puffs
Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes