My Reviews (121)

Chocolate Beetroot Cake

Beetroot and chocolate are a match made in heaven - try this cake and see. Top the cooled cake with your favourite icing.
Reviews (121)


02 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: vickii
Easy to prepare and bake. Moist and delicious, will be making this forever.
 
09 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: Lynbeb
Lovely and moist took a bit longer to cook than 30mins about 8mins more I iced mine with lemon cream cheese icing cake now to die for
 
15 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: BuddyAnderson
My students loved this recipe
 
30 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: ChrisNewman
Great Cake, You need to use a flat pan 20cm by 30cm for the correct cooking time, if you miss read and put it in a 20cm cake tin it will take a long time to cook 60min at least.
 
22 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: Ali69
WOW!!! This cake is awesome and so moist. Everyone who tasted it LOVED it, even the kids. I iced it with butter icing. Sooo good. So easy to prepare too. I'm just cooking some more home grown beetroot to make another cake. Can't wait Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe.
 
18 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: LyndyReynolds
could you use drained tinned beetroot? I'll try it and let you know : )
 
04 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Diana
This cake is absolutely stunning. I will make this anytime I need a choc cake or cupcakes. So unbelievably moist! Absolutely no hint of beetroot. I pureed the beetroot in the blender along with the eggs and oil - the result was intensely pink, smooth and creamy. I then poured that out into a bowl and followed the recipe as stated from there. I pretty much followed the recipe to the letter, except I used olive oil instead of reg veg oil, and the result was fabulous. I made cupcakes and baked at the stated temp for about 18 minutes. Thanks! A gorgeous recipe! **Update** I made these a second time for my husband's birthday, and two different people told me they were the best chocolate cupcakes they had ever had!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: snap-hiss
I made this as cupcakes and they are delicious! I didn't have the werewithal to puree the beetroot so I just finely grated it, which worked just as well. Possibly a smidge too sweet, but amazingly moist (and I'm one who often has problems making moist cakes!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: NEVAS.MOM
Good cake -- very yummy. You'd never know there were beets in it. I don't know if I'd make it if I didn't have a glut of beets from the garden (like now) -- it takes so long to cook the beets -- but I will make this cake again. I decreased the oil by half and replaced it with apple sauce (I do this with all my recipes) and boosted the fibre a bit by using whole wheat flour in place some of the all purpose. (I hadn't done that with cakes before, just breads and muffins, but it worked out fine.) Hopefully that will shave a few grams off the per serving fat content, while still leaving a delicious dessert.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: bex2907
I made these into cupcakes with a simple chocolate butter icing on top. They were lovely, so moist and light. Went down very well with hubby's work colleagues!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes