My Reviews (28)

Honey and Rosemary Soda Bread

This delicious soda bread is perfect to serve with a bowl of soup or serve lightly buttered with honey and a mug of tea!
Reviews (28)


Comment:
20 Oct 2008
Something else. Think next time I will divide the recipe in half and bake 2 loaves as this was a very large loaf and took extra time in my oven to bake and bottom got a bit dark.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: irenafoods
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
31 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: MagnoliaBlossom
Good flavor. Used whole wheat flour instead of ground wholemeal flour. Same problem as another reviewer, seemed to get very dark at 400 deg., and center was still doughy after 45 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: OccasionalCooker
Wow! This bread was excellent. I'm still in shock that I actually made a loaf of bread. I have never made bread before and this was so easy and delicious. If I can do this, anyone can make this bread! It is a dense bread. As I am in the US, I used whole wheat flour for the ground wholemeal flour and all-purpose flour for the plain flour. Thank you to Christina and other reviewers who mentioned using a food scale to do the measurement conversions to US measurements. That worked perfectly for me. I did have to pull it out of the oven about 10 minutes sooner than the stated cooking time but I think my oven runs hot. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
31 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: mintconditionherbfarm
I divided this into 2 loaves, used about 1 Tablespoon of fresh rosemary, chopped...not sure what the original author meant by a "sprig," since "sprigs" come in a lengths! Texture was a bit coarse for our tastes, so next time I think I'll go with all unbleached white flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: armywifeydebbie
Very easy to make.Flavorful dense loaf of bread. My only issue was the bread was a bit doughy in the center after 45 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: donnam
I liked the flavors of the bread, but felt it needed more salt and added 1/4 tsp of salt to a second loaf. The first loaf I made became very dark on the top (almost burnt), so I tented foil over it during the last ten minutes of baking the second time I baked it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
18 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: KGora
I was pleasantly surprised at how well this turned out. I am not good at baking breads and this turned out gorgeous. Simple recipe well worth trying. I love how well the honey and rosemary compliment each other in this recipe! I didn't have wholemeal flour in the pantry and couldn't wait to try it so I used all plain flour and it was devine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
09 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: PaulaGene
I am not a bread baker, but this recipe turned out delicious! I used white whole wheat for the wholemeal and 1/2 tsp. dried rosemary. I also used 1/8 tsp. salt but will add more next time. I made two small loaves instead of the one big one and baked them a little longer than 20 minutes. I will definitely make this rustic loaf again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
12 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: CookinBug
Yum! This bread has great flavor; I love rosemary and the honey really added a nice mellow contrast. I live in the US and we don't have coarse ground wholemeal here that I've ever seen, so I used whole wheat flour in it's place. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes