My Reviews (139)

Chicken Noodle Soup with Thai Chilli Sauce

A bit of a kick from Thai chilli sauce makes all the difference with chicken noodle soup. You can also use leftover cooked chicken which cuts down the prep time a bit.
Reviews (139)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
DETROBODINE said:
Used different ingredients. This didn't seem really Thai-ish to me except for the chilli sauce at the end. So I added a small stalk of lemon grass that I whacked with my rubber mallet to crush it a bit, and a few kaffir lime leaves to the stock while it simmered. I also added a teaspoon full of something called "Hot Spice Powder" which I picked up at our local asian market. The ingredient list is: white pepper, salt, spice; so I'm not really sure what all is in it, but it tasted good in the soup. Will definitely make it again. Oh, and I removed the lemon grass and lime leaves before serving. Thanks for the recipe!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MYKAYLIS
This was pretty good.. I may cut back on the amount of noodles next time because after a day or two they absorbed all the juice. I'll continue making this recipe from time to time.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: COCOA5
Fantastic one pot recipe - easy, healthy, filling and looked great when served. There was no need for me to add any extra seasoning during the cooking process. Thai sweet chilli sauce complemented the dish perfectly. There was just enough flavour from the stock, leeks and from poaching the chicken in the soup base. Thanks for posting this recipe, Jessica. Definitely a dish I will make regularly.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SHEILAR73 said:
Used different ingredients. Very good. Added a little carrot for colour/taste. The chilli sauce makes it. Will make again.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KIM NORTON
This was brilliant! A great easy soup to make on a cold night. Would be great to take to a sick friend. There are healing properties in cabbage!!
 
19 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: Brown Sugar Girl
This was pretty good...my first time trying anything with leeks! I think it tastes best with half regular green cabbage and half Chinese napa cabbage. I used at least 2 tablespoons of chile sauce, which I added just after the noodles. I may cut back on the amount of noodles next time because after a day or two they absorbed all the juice. I'll continue making this recipe from time to time. **UPDATE** It's been a couple of years since I made this soup and now I've tried it again and made additional discoveries. First, if you're using spicy garlic sauce, two teaspoons will suffice and add 1 tablespoon of brown sugar. If you're using sweet garlic sauce, use 1 tablespoon and add a dash or two cayenne pepper. Secondly, to avoid loosing all the broth to the noodles, cook the noodles separately, then add them to the soup after the cabbage is just about tender, plus an additional cup of broth and 1 cup of water. Trust me; you'll love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: MissFern
This is a decent Southeast Asian cabbage soup recipe, except that it's missing one important element: FISH SAUCE! Add that, and you'll find the flavor you're missing in the original recipe. **Update: I've made this recipe a bunch of times now, and by far the best is with garlic chili sauce (in the jar with a green lid). Also, it's better without noodles - they get mushy in leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Dianemwj
This didn't seem really Thai-ish to me except for the chile sauce at the end. So I added a small stalk of lemon grass that I whacked with my rubber mallet to crush it a bit, and a few kaffir lime leaves to the broth while it simmered. I also added a teaspoon full of something called "Hot Spice Powder" which I picked up at our local international market. The ingredient list is: white pepper, salt, spice; so I'm not really sure what all is in it, but it tasted good in the soup. I used about a cup of teeny, tiny, skinny Fideo noodles. The result was delicious. DH put too much chile sauce in his serving, and complained about the heat, but that was his own silly fault. We both really liked this. Will definitely make it again. Oh, and I removed the lemon grass and lime leaves before serving. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: SHIBO
This is my favorite recipe on the site.. Probably my favorite recipe, period. Great tasting, filling, and not horrible for my health. Great combination! Now, the biggest weakness of this recipe, in my opinion, is that the broth really gets soaked up by the noodles, so leftovers get mooshy. However, there is a solution! Buy "no yolk" egg noodles and enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Mrs Possum 08
Fantastic one pot recipe - easy, healthy, filling and looked great when served up. There was no need for me to add any extra seasoning during the cooking process. Thai sweet chilli sauce complemented the dish perfectly. There was just enough flavour from the stock, leeks and from poaching the chicken in the soup base. I poached the chicken in 4 cups of chicken stock and then added another 3 cups of vegetable stock gradually when the fluid level ran low during the cooking of the vegetables and noodles. Thanks for posting this recipe, Jessica. Definitely a dish I will make regularly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes