My Reviews (111)

Snapper with Salsa

This is a terrific bbq recipe where snapper is marinated in tequila and lime and then barbecued and served with salsa.
Reviews (111)


Comment:
21 Jul 2008
SARAH_LIZ said:
Used different ingredients. The only fish I normaly eat is sushi because I don't like cooked fish that much. But I have to say this is the best ever. I substituted spring onions for the coriander. All I can say is WOW!!
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: INTERGALACTICELVIS
This is excellent. 2nd time I've made it. This time I used Grand Marnier, red onion, fresh tomato and basil from the garden. It is now part of my recipe collection. Make this, you won't be disappointed.
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
CEFY said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I made this recipe for about 30 people and turned even the biggest "seafood hater" into a fan! I left out the coriander and don't feel the recipe suffered without it. I would advise making a little extra marinade since it adds so much flavour and keeps the fish and the salsa moist and flavourful. Thanks Bill, for a recipe worthy of even the best cookbook!!!!
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Da Shast
This has become a weekly favourite. We also also use it on boneless chicken breasts and its wonderful!
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: PUMPKINISLAND
This was a big hit and we will serve it again. Have shared this with others.
 
02 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: JennyJenn
I thought this recipe was great. In fact, I cooked it twice in one week; the second time over chicken. The marinade was tangy and I loved the texture of the salsa topping. The ingredients are a little expensive, but once you buy the two bottles of liquor, you may use them again and again for this recipe, or cocktails, hehe. For the reviewer that stated that the fish was dry, you shouldn't marinate it for longer than the recipe states (and then give a bad review). Fruit juices and/or liquor are known to "cook up" fish, such as ceviche.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: TYPICALGIRL
This has become a weekly favorite. I live in rural Mo, having moved here from southern Ca. Adding variety to the standard fried-meat-and-potatoes local fare can be challenging. This recipe fits the bill. You'll never see a grouper in any of *our* local grocerey stores, but we do occasionally get talapia (sp) and that works well. We also also use it on bonless chicken breasts and its wonderful! Its a great meal on a hot day, because its light and the chilled salsa sets it off.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: MDROUILL
We used Sea Bass and this recipe was AWESOME!!!! Like others, we dod not have Orange Liquer, and skipped it (based on the feedback to NOT use OJ - which we were going to). We also baked at 350 deg for about 25 minutes. We personally liked it better with the salsa. This was sooooooeasy and so darn good - gourmet with 5 stars!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: XREIMAD
The only fish I normaly eat is sushi because I don't like cooked fish that much. But I have to say this is the best ever. I substituted Red Snapper and Scallions for the cilantro. All I can say is WOW!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: DABRIDE
Made this, but omitted the salsa.....was EXCELLENT. My husband said it tasted like it was from a restaurant. I also basted it with a little butter on the grill. The person that gave it a bad review must have marinated it too long, fish will "cook" itself if left in any citric acid for too long. They said they did it the night before........good lord that would've turned it to mush or ruined it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes