My Reviews (10)

Baked Beef and Rice Stuffed Zucchini

Zucchini 'boats' are filled with a hearty beef, tomato and rice filling, topped with grated cheese and baked until golden.
Reviews (10)


Comment:
09 Nov 2009
janswiss said:
Used different ingredients. Brilliant recipe this! I had beef mince to use up and thought I would try it in place of lamb. I followed the recipe to the letter apart from (obviously) removing the addition of mint and replacing rosemary with an equivalent quantity of thyme. My wife is away on business at the moment and my kids demand good food. This went down fantastically well from when I got them to taste the filling for flavour/saltiness to the final presentation on the table. What was supposed to be a Monday evening family meal turned out to be a real gourmet feast. Thank you and we do look forward to trying the lamb version. P.S. The recipe stipulates 2 cloves of garlic. Don't skimp on this as this is an integral part of this really lovely dish. Also don't panic if you find that you have to cook any part of the recipe longer than stated, it will be perfect in the end!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
04 Aug 2010
NeilTheasby said:
Something else. Added an Oxo cube to the mince mixture + to save time used a microwaveable pouch of rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: mloia
This was really tasty. I used a giant courgette so had to bake it longer initially but the result was fantastic. Very impressive and my family loved it. I have leftover stuffing so just bought a couple of aubergines to stuff!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
04 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Poplarsglutten
Had a great crop of really large courgettes this year and tried out this recipe, after extending the cooking time and adding a few sharpeners for our taste all I can say is Wow. Great use of homegrown veg!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
24 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Blomstick
Stuffed a marrow with the filling, it was fab a great recipe if your on slimming world as its syn free on extra easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
31 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Kilmory
I made this last night exactly as the recipe stated. We both loved it and I'll definitely be making it again. I had filling left over which I cooked in a separate dish and used to stuff peppers today. I'm not sure though what the purpose of the egg is. Kilmory
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
12 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: toxshock
I've made it a couple of times and I love it and my family who have banned me from cooking marrow, which I also love are able to enjoy this meal, even though they are not huge courgette fans. I follow this recipe to the letter. One point though, the calories listed are not correct, as I am on a diet at the moment I think it is nearer 600 kcals per portion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
12 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: TamaraPetroff
I made this and it was a big hit. I had 6 medium courgettes that needed using, and took 500g of lamb mince out of the freezer so it was 1.5x the original. Other variations that I did, mostly for speed and expediency: used 1 400g tin of chopped tomatoes and juice instead of fresh tomatoes + passata in the recipe. Left out the garlic (family preference). To simplify, I didn't add stuff to the rice but added everything (including the cooked rice) to the lamb mix. There was far more filling than needed just to fill the courgette shells, so I just spread it over the top, grated the parmesan on top of that and baked it as the recipe says. Enough for at least 2 meals for 3 people, maybe a lunch too. Very tasty and I have been encouraged to do it again by my constituents...
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
16 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: C.b
Takes a bit of preparing but worth it, even 2 year old daughter loves it
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
26 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: ceeteebee
lovely!! will do again an try different seasonings, not because it will improve it but just out of curiousity. good way to use courgettes out of the garden.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes