My Reviews (689)

Best Chocolate Zucchini Cake

This is a sweet but not too sweet cake that is a great way to get your zucchini! Watch this recipe being made in the Allrecipes Chocolate Zucchini Video.
Reviews (689)


02 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: Chiropam
Very moist delicious cake. Changed 350g vegetable oil to 225g organic cold pressed avocado oil for a healthier choice and it came out superb ;-)
 
06 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: JaydesGranny
Easy and delicious!
 
11 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: SamanthaKealy
i loved this and so did my 8 month old and my 3 year old. i did change it as i had no walnuts so i used almonds and added coconut.. i turned them into little muffins. will make again!
 
18 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: pkmil
Yum yum and easy to make too!
 
24 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: ALLIEA
Excellent moist cake . I replaced one half of the oil with applesauce (three quarter cup applesauce three quarter cup oil and instead of just folding in lightly packed shredded zucchini I folded it in then muxed it at medium speed with my mixmaster for one to two minutes to make the batter. Then I replaced the walnuts with chocolate chips since I do not care for walnuts. Very good when frosted with the Zucchini brownie icing recipe on this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: TRindell
Very moist and yummy cake! Only used 1 cup of oil-- that was plenty. Substituted chocolate chips for the nuts. Baked in a bundt pan at 350 degrees for 50-55 minutes and dusted with confectioners sugar. Superb!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Islander
Fantastic fudgey, moist cake. I love it for two reasons -- it's versatile and easy, it even works in a high-altitude area, like Denver where I live. I use white whole wheat flour (King Arthur and Wheat Montana sell a white spring kernel variety, which is lighter and sweeter than regular whole wheat, but just as nutritious), and it still tastes like regular chocolate cake. Also, I can trim the fat without it tasting low-fat.I replace 1/2 cup to 1 cup of the oil with applesauce or mashed pear (use a small hole grater on an apple if you don't have any applesauce). I've made this recipe three times now, and when I'm not being health-conscious, I love it with chocolate glaze. I make a quick one with cocoa powder (mix 2 TBS oil, 2 TBS melted butter, 2TBS Karo syrup, 2 tsp vanilla, 6 TBS cocoa powder, 1.5 cups powdered sugar and 1/2 cup milk or more depending on your desired consistency).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: COOKDEJOUR
Just an update on my review from last year. The cake is still excellent and everyone still loves it, but I wanted to let you know that it is also now a blue ribbon winner! I entered it in the chocolate cake category at our county fair. I frosted it with a vanilla powdered sugar frosting and it took FIRST place. Just thought you would like to know. Thanks a gain for the terrific recipe and new family favorite. P. S. My husband is very finicky about vegetables even when they're in breads or cakes and he really loves this cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: BananaPancakes
I made this cake for my friend's birthday party and I copied some of the changes that the other members suggested. I cut the oil to 3/4 cup and added 3/4 cup of apple sauce. And instead of using all, all-purpose flour, I used 1 cup of all-purpose and 1 cup of whole wheat. I also cut the sugar in half because the applesauce is sweet so that would make up for some of the missing sugar and then I added a tsp of vanilla. Anyway, when I brought this cake to my friends birthday party, everybody raved about it! Even my friend who hates all vegetables and fruits LOVED it (she still doesn't know that it was a zucchini cake because I haven't told her yet). AWESOME cake
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: SCARIO
My organic farmer brought me an impressively large zucchini this week. Yikes. This recipe was exactly what I needed. Quick, easy, used lots of the green stuff, and tasted GREAT. I used a bundt pan (65 minutes to bake) and made a simple chocolate glaze for the top. Heavenly. The kids devoured it, and as they helped me make it, they knew exactly what was in it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes