My Reviews (138)

Steak with Roasted Garlic and Red Wine Sauce

This is a lovely red wine sauce for steak that incorporates a whole head of roasted garlic. The flavours go together very well.
Reviews (138)


Comment:
23 Apr 2009
KeffynK said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I added low fat cream and some grained mustard...I would have prefered to add sour cream instead, but didn't have any at the time.
 
23 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: KeffynK
Easy recipe to make and very yummy!
 
18 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: JULIEMC001
...This was awesome!!!!...I too added 1/2 cup of mushrooms and 1 can of the beef broth. It takes 45 min or so to reduce the wine sauce, and that is boiling it on high the entire time, so allow for this. Highly recommended.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: APMIAZGA
We really loved this. Once the meat was out of the pan it was difficult to keep it warm without over cooking it. So, I cooked the meat a bit less and after the sauce was complete returned the meat to the pan to finish cooking it. It was a great way to cover the meat with the delicious sauce. It worked out very well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: sarahkhas
Excellent!!! I also added a can of beef broth and about a cup of mushrooms. Absolutely wonderful. I accidently started it all before realizing my beef was bad, and used chicken instead, and it was still very good. Recommended!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: PYTNPLACE
Yum, yum, yum! We all LOVED this. I didn't find it tough at all. It's important to slice thinly against the grain. Very easy too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: ELLENEJ22
I really love this recipe. The sauce is great, simple and savory tasting. I cooked medium rare and made extra sauce and served over mashed potatoes. This recipe is really easy, and flavorful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: BUSTERPOOH
My Boyfriend loved this so much that he invited his friends over to have me cook. Although I changed the recipe a little, I did not have any red wine so I used white Zinfandel. It worked really well. I also use garlic powder. I cooked it the correct way once and it was good but my boyfriend liked it better with the changes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: Fiona
This was a great recipe, thanks so much. My husband really enjoyed it and he hates it when I cook with wine, but he keeps asking me when we will be having it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: pammy74
Great dish, very easy to make. I cooked the steak a little longer because my husband does not like rare meat. It was still pink and very tender. Was even better the next night for leftovers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes