My Reviews (183)

Easy Homemade Sponge Fingers

For the best tiramisu or trifle you should try making your own sponge fingers. They are easier to make than you might think!
Reviews (183)


Comment:
21 Jul 2008
Jen R. said:
Used different ingredients. Very good -- the only thing I would suggest is the importance of a bit of vanilla (1/2 tsp) to give great flavour
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
Something else. Possibly the easiest recipe I have found for these. They turned out great. I baked mine a little longer on insulated baking trays, to get a drier biscuit for tiramisu. These would be great in a lot of layered desserts.
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: EverydayMommy
This recipe didn't work perfectly for me - however, I think it was due to the room temp when i was mixing and piping - little too hot - and the fingers spread out and turned out rather gummy. However, I saved a little batter in the fridge; I piped and baked a few fingers the next day and wonderful -- Poofy and cakey, as they should be. So if you notice a first try goes flat, try cooling the batter and trying again later.
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: FEEDMENOW
I too was making tiramisu and so I gave these a try. Everyone who tried my tiramisu said that it was the best yet, thanks to these - very nice.
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: 3KIDS5
Very nice and light -- excellent for tiramisu. With these make sure you watch the bottoms for burning. They also tend to spread a bit so don't crowd them.
 
20 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: ELPARSONS
After readings some the other reviews, I thought I'd share a couple of little tips I learned from the pastry chef at Joel's (a five star restaurant in Atlanta) to keep ladyfingers from spreading too much when baking. First make sure you've sifted the flour really well before using. Second, keep an eye on the egg whites and don't over-whip them. Third, GENTLY fold the egg yolks into the whites. Again, don't over whip! Finally, place a cookie cutter on the parchment paper or silpat and pipe the mixture into the cookie cutter until it's about halfway full. Lift the cookie cutter up and move it approximately 1 inch away and repeat. You end up with nice round absorbent ladyfingers that are perfect for tiramisu. Hope this helps!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Liz McCleoud
I too was making tiramisu and couldn't find the prepackaged kind so I gave these a try. I didn't have the patience for piping so I just lined a jelly roll pan with greased waxed paper, spread the batter, baked for eight mins and after cooling, cut them into strips. Everyone who tried my tiramisu said that it was the best yet, thanks to the homemade ladyfingers- very nice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: EAVENGER
This recipe didn't work perfectly for me - however, I think it was due to the room temp when i was mixing and piping - little too hot - and the fingers spread out and turned out rather gummy. However, I saved a little batter in the fridge; I piped and baked a few fingers the next day and VOILA! Poofy and cakey, as they should be. So if you notice a first panful goes flat, try cooling the batter and trying again later.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Suzy
Very good the only thing I would suggest is the importance of a bit of vanilla (1/2 tsp) and extracts like almond or lemon to really kick it up a notch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Mariluh
These cookies were awesome! I found them very easy to make. And I love the fact that they require so few ingredients and such a short baking time. They are very light and airy! I didn't have a problem with them spreading too much, like others did. Although I can say, that they are kind of a thinner cookie, which worked well for my Tiramisu. I'm still not sure about the Tiramisu, but the cookies rocked! I got 38 cookies from this recipe, it may vary for others, as I "piped" them through a plastic bag, and I wasn't very good at getting them all the same size. I did cook them for 7 minutes, instead of 8. I found that the bottoms were nice and brown and the tops were very light. My husband ate like 12 of them with a tall glass of milk before I made my tiramisu! I will definitely use this recipe again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes