My Reviews (173)

Lime Chilli Chicken

Chicken is marinated in lime, garlic and chilli and then cooked until crispy brown on the barbecue or under the grill.
Reviews (173)


Comment:
19 Nov 2008
amanda said:
Something else. Used fresh chilli and didnt cook on the bbq-cooked in hot frypan inside
 
25 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Lactosefree
Left the chicken to marinate overnight and it was absolutely awesome. Tender on the inside, crispy on the outside.
 
19 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: amanda
Made this last night-its great as long as you like lime (which I do!) garlic and chilli (ditto!). I used fresh chilli and didn't cook on the barbecue but in a hot, cast iron frypan inside.
 
05 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Sara
I made a few changes that made this a 5 star recipe for me. I doubled the amount of lime juice and garlic and allowed the chicken to marinate overnight for a flavorful, juicy chicken breast. I served this topped with black bean salsa (from this website) and a pepper jack quesadilla with guacomole on the side. Wonderful!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Jillian
Very good marinade. Overall, the chicken turned out moist and citrusy with a little kick from the red pepper flakes. I used olive oil vs. veg. oil and cut the boneless chicken into chunks before marinating to make kabobs. I also added some white wine vinegar to tenderize the chicken. I didn't have fresh oregano so I used dried. I let this marinate for 8 hours and skewered this with red and green peppers, cherry tomatoes, and red onion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2000
Reviewed by: Esmee Williams
This a very easy recipe for chicken breasts. The marinade adds lots of tangy flavor. We ate the chicken plain with artichokes, however I bet it would be delicious in a salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: CSANDST1
Very tasty. Flavors were very subtle though. I think next time I'll marinate longer. Also used dried oregano as I did not have fresh. Will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: SweetBasil
Very good and simple marinade. I did put the chicken in overnight. Added more lime juice, garlic and red pepper - also a little cayenne. Will use this often for the ease and flavor. Thank you!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Jacquita
Very good marinade for chicken. I ended up marinating two boneless chicken breasts and two thighs for almost 2 days, as I didn't cook it the first night I thought I was going to. It turned out so good and tasty. The only change I made was to leave out the salt. Might try a bit more red pepper flakes next time. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: lucylove
I always cut chicken breasts in half so they're thinner, and this recipe rewarded that, because with just 2 hours marinating the flavors really came through. I'm so tired of chicken marinades that don't really permeate the meat, but not here. The lime, garlic and pepper were very present. Sadly, the pepper flakes only ended up on half of my piece. Next time I'll use cayenne or hot sauce to make sure I get an even coating of spice. I served it with rice pilaf and grilled pineapple spears and was told to "Make this again!" We loved it! ****Update***** Made this for Mom and she only let put in a dash or two of hot sauce, afraid of too much heat. It was much worse for the change, tasting like lime chicken, with not much else going on. Do not omit or reduce the pepper flake or sauce, it's really needed to make this dish shine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes