My Reviews (897)

Strawberry Soy Breakfast Smoothie

This quick and easy breakfast smoothie will help you start your day out right. Loaded with soy milk, porridge, a whole ripe banana and some frozen strawberries.
Reviews (897)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SPARKLEGHOST said:
Used different ingredients. I absolutely love smoothies!! They are one of my favourite breakfast items....except I made this one for my lunch today. I love the oatmeal in it, but think that 1/2 a cup is a little too much. I used quick cooking oats since that's what I normally have on hand and substituted a container of strawberry yoghurt for the strawberries. I have not been able to find a decent batch of strawberries yet this year. They are not sweet for some reason, so I'm a little hesitant to buy them. Anyway, the oatmeal made this smoothie VERY filling and I too omitted the vanilla and sugar since I used vanilla flavoured soy milk. Great new find...thanks Astrophe.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JENN_77 said:
Used different ingredients. FABULOUS! I have never tried a smoothy with oatmeal! Who'da thunk! Well this is great. I also tried a variation of using fresh juice in place of the soymilk. Fresh pineapple juice was especially yummy! Also, when you use juice in place, no sugar or vanilla is needed. Thanks for this great idea. I am thinking of trying wheat flakes too!
 
Comment:
24 Sep 2009
truebeast said:
Used different ingredients. Great recipe! I personally don't like to add sugar so dropped that (the banana has enough natural sugar) and also like to increase the protein content in my shakes so use a Soy Protein powder. I found one without flavouring or additives which works perfectly for shakes etc at the following site http://www.purenutrition.com.au/soy-protein-isolate-1kg.html Enjoy!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
KEVINCOOK said:
Used different ingredients. This is a great morning smoothie. If I don't have frozen strawberries I make sure the banana is frozen.. one of them has to be or else it is too liquidy. Also, substituting half the strawberries with peaches is a great combo too. This recipe says 2 servings, but really it's the size of a regular smoothie you'd get at a place like Jamba Juice.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: candykydfairy
I put the oats in first and ground them fine. It was great!!! Very filling and yummy.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DART1121
This is delicious! I grind up the oatmeal in the blender first and sometimes use a combination of frozen strawberries and peaches. I love the thick texture the oats give it, and it's very filling. My boyfriend begs for these.
 
03 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: JOSIE
I absolutely love smoothies!! They are one of my favorite breakfast items....except I made this one for my lunch today. I love the oatmeal in it, but think that 1/2 a cup is a little too much. I used quick cooking oats since that's what I normally have on hand and substituted a container of strawberry yogurt for the strawberries. I have not been able to find a decent batch of strawberries yet this year. They are not sweet for some reason, so I'm a little hesitant to buy them. Anyway, the oatmeal made this smoothie VERY filling and I too omitted the vanilla and sugar since I used vanilla flavored soy milk. Great new find...thanks Astrophe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: Leesha
I put the oats in first and ground them fine. It was great!!! Very filling and yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Lauren C.
GREAT! i loved this recipe it was wonderful. it make the oatmeal less grainy, i put that in the blender first and pureed it until it was powdery, then added the rest of the ingredients. its so good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2005
Reviewed by: BOLTBABE
FABULOUS! I have never tried a smoothy with oatmeal! Who'da thunk! Well this is great. I also tried a variation of using fresh juice in place of the soymilk. Fresh pineapple juice was especially yummy! Also, when you use juice in place, no sugar or vanilla is needed. Thanks for this great idea. I am thinking of trying wheat flakes too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes