My Reviews (98)

Spicy Beef Enchiladas

These beef enchiladas are baked in a home made sauce with beef, coriander, chilli, many other spices then topped with cheese. Your family will enjoy them.
Reviews (98)


17 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Vickie Boozer
This is my recipe, and I just want to add some comments about some of the comments in the reviews. Some have mentioned that the sauce is too sweet or tastes too much like tomato sauce. My guess is that the wrong prepared salsa is being used. You need to use a high quality prepared FRESH salsa, not that nasty stuff in jars or cans that is mostly tomato sauce. I usually find it in the deli section of my grocery store. It comes in mild, medium, or hot. I prefer the medium, but if you think this recipe is too hot or not hot enough, use the mild or hot versions. If you want it even hotter, add some chopped jalapenos. When I called the sauce spicy, I meant using lots of spices, not "hot" spicy. Also, it is not critical if you don't want to simmer the meat sauce for the extra time. I just think the extra simmering gives the spices a chance to meld with the meat for a better flavor and it also thickens the sauce. I made this several times before I submitted it to make sure I got the spices right. The red sauce also makes a very tasty salsa. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: sunshine
I have tried so many enchilada recipes, and finally this is the one! No need to make changes; it is perfect as is. I did use corn tortillas since that is all the store had (strange), but I doubt that it made any difference. Even the best restaurant enchiladas I have had don't top these.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Lucygirl
This is a wonderful tex mexican dish! Made it tonight for the first time for guests and it was a major hit! Everything is perfect.. Make is just how the recipe says and it will turn out perfect. Spices are wonderful together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: shellie68
This dish is delicious! The directions in the recipe make it seem harder and longer than it really is. I did change a few things like added jalapenos and red peppers to make it more spicy. It also does not take much time to make... at first glance it seemed long and hard but if you just go with it it will turn out amazing! My boyfriend loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Jamie
Wow, my house smells like a restaurant and the flavor of these is fab! The meat mixture alone could be made the day before, or made to go over rice. Very tasty recipe. I cook for our church freezer and this would be great to freeze and let others just reheat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: MUTTSY
Excellent !! Loved it !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Sherri
Very good sauce that makes the recipe top notch, I used Ancho chili powder, nice flavoring. My salsa and chicken broth were homemade, and I used my Immersion blender in the pan to make a nice smooth texture since my salsa was pretty chunky. I skipped the warming tortillas in foil stage, just used them straight out of the package. I made my own Mexican blend of cheese with Colby Jack, and Kraft jalapeno cheddar. I also added one can of black beans to the meat mixture to make fuller enchiladas, and the remainder of my ck broth worked fine in place of beef broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: fleurdelisa
My family didn't like it. It was more sweet than spicy. I will not make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Amelia
I really liked this recipe, much more than the one I was using before. And the fact that's from scratch make me like it even more. I don't live in the US, so "use a can of ... or a package of ..." very often don't work for me, just because I can't buy it here. Not sure I would anyway, thinking how things taste better when they are made from scratch, and also I can control what I add to it. Though I had to make few small changes to fit my taste. First of all, I am not a huge fan of a very spicy food, so I cut the chili powder on half and it was still very spicy for me (though my husband loved it Next time will add even less. Second, I used a large can (28oz) of tomatoes with juice mashed with blender until smooth) and cut tomato paste in half, omitted basil and cut chicken broth to 1.5 cups (because I already had more liquid in tomatoes). Third, I didn't understand why you need to keep cooking the meat sauce for 30 more minutes after adding cheese.. I cooked it for 20 min or so, added cheese, covered with lid and turned off the heat. Followed the recipe in other steps, will make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: bluemeanies24
These enchiladas turned out very yummy! The tortillas soak up a lot of the sauce when baking, making them extra flavorful. I didn't understand why I needed to cook the sauce for an extra 30 minutes though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes