My Reviews (68)

Basic Cornbread

This cornbread recipe uses no flour or sugar, only polenta, buttermilk, butter, egg and oil, making it gluten free and basic. Cooked right in the frying pan.
Reviews (68)


01 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: HSV
This was not edible. When I did not see any raising agents I had my doubts, but I gave it a shot. The upside is that the birds are really enjoying it.
 
07 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Joan Constant
This should be named "Southern Cornbread" I've made cornbread this way for 60 yrs. The only thing that would make it better, if White Lily still made Three Rivers cornmeal. They stopped about two years ago. It is still excellent. I use a 10" skillet. This is also very good crumbled into a glass of cold milk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: graham072442@yahoo.com
You could use either an 8" or 10" skillet for this recipe. A variation I like is to make this become "cracklin' cornbread," something my grandmother made. In the south, you can buy cracklins in the refrigerated meats section of the store. If that's not available to you, buy a bag of snacking pork rinds and crumble into small bits yielding about 1/4-1/2 cup and mix it in the batter. If you're a "purist," you can use 1/4 cup Crisco or other "solid" shortening in place of the oil; just cut it into the dry cornmeal until you have small crumble results and then add other ingredients. This is my favorite kind of cornbread! Goes great with pinto beans, black-eyed peas, turnip or mustard or collard greens, or chili.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: KELARJIAN
This makes a great corn BREAD. If Marie Calendar's is waaaay to sweet this is the one for you. Even if you don't top with honey, jam, preserves, jelly or syrup it's quite good. This is the only one I've come across that doesn't doesn't have sugar and flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: BreadBaker
This recipe is indeed interesting from an historic perspective - possibly a passed-down recipe from an age where leavening and maybe even white flour was hard to get and not always available to the lonely farm-wife. The density and lack of sugar are not so detracting as the lack of salt or any other flavoring in this recipe. It reminds me a little of the modern "depression era" bread recipes that leave out salt as if it were so dear as to be unaffordable... which I doubt was really the case except in the most severely poor homes. Some other reviews suggest adding sugar or baking powder or all-purpose flour. That really would change the recipe too dramatically and take away from the simple charm of this "southern" cornbread. I would suggest adding a teaspoon of salt. It maintains the spirit of this all-corn southern bread, but makes it palatable. If you want a slightly fluffier cornbread, meringue the egg by beating vigorously to froth before mixing with other ingredients. What the poor southern cook might have lacked in ingredients, they could make up with elbow-grease.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: shuyett
I didn't care for this recipe. Maybe I did something wrong that the other reviewers did right, but it tasted so bad. Bland, gritty, flat...my husband, kids nor I could even eat it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2011
Reviewed by: calaren
I love this! To me, cornbread should never have honey, sugar, or any other sweetener in it - it's corn BREAD, not corn CAKE! It should be coarse and savory with a hint of sourness - this fits the bill perfectly! Thanks for sharing this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Stacy McVay
If you like sweet corn bread or "muffin like" corn bread this is not the corn bread for you. It has no sugar and no flour. This is a plain "southern style cornbread". You can dress it up by adding jalapenos, cheese, or anything else you like. This is just the Basic recipe. This is a great cornbread eaten with chili or on the side of most southern meals. I like it as it is crumbled in a tall glass of milk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Helen M.
Sorry, I'm from the South and this is now southern cornbread. I want make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: rokyrakune
Wow Stacy this was fabuous and we love this with chili. Thanks for your creativity and sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes