My Reviews (48)

Bacon Potato Nibbles

These wee nibbles are a great party treat. Just wrap baby potatoes in bacon, sprinkle on on garlic then pop on the barbecue. Serve with salad dressing or ranch.
Reviews (48)


25 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Baking Nana
These were pretty tasty and would make them again next time without the ranch dressing mix. It made them a little too salty. Next time I will roll in garlic olive oil and wrap in the bacon. Depending on the size of your potatoes you might need more bacon. I did par boil my potatoes - cooled and then wrapped them in bacon. They can be made ahead and stored in the refrigerator. They are a bit fiddley to assemble - but easy and fast to grill. Keep your eye on them though so they don't go up in flames! *** Yes, these can be done in the oven. Might make for a tasty appetizer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Cheryl Bricks
I made these for a Labor Day party and changed up a few things, but frankly this is a winning combo that would be hard to mess up. I made about 75 for the party (they were gone within 1 hour) so I ended up baking them in my oven. Just too many for the grill. I used baby golden potatoes that I poked with a fork after washing. and placed in a large zip lock back with vandalia onion dressing, fresh ground pepper, a splash of evoo and let sit overnight in the fridge. I wrapped the potatoes with thick cut bacon (tucked the ends on the underside) from GFS (my fav) in the morning and again placed back in the fridge until I was ready to bake. This helped the bacon to set around the potatoe nicely without using toothpicks. I baked them at 400 for about 45 minutes and they were perfect. I served with a side bowl of 'Sweet Baby Rays BBQ Sauce" Next time I might sprinkle with some finely shredded cheddar cheese at the very end of baking, or maybe try these with a bit of brown sugar sprinked on top when rolling up, and just before placing back in the fridge. As I said, this is just one of those recipes that whatever you do, it will be great tasting, and make you look like a wonder in the kitchen!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Molly
HAW - thank you for sharing this recipe. It is a great addition to any meat being cooked on the grill. I served these with the Recipe Group choice this week - Marinated Flank Steak with Peppers. These were so delicious - family loved them. And, they were easy to make. I put on metal skewers rather than the toothpicks. It worked great. Already thinking ahead to when I can make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Lisa H
These were so good. I used reduced sodium bacon which was very thin. I didn't use the ranch, instead I added pepper, dried chives and granulated garlic. Also, I baked them at 400 and the bacon was crispy. Avoid my mistake--I tried to put the toothpicks through the edge of the potatoes at first which resulted in broken off, embedded toothpicks--oops!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: givigirl
These were DELISH! Everyone loved them. We used turkey bacon and wrapped the entire slice of bacon a round it. A little piece of heaven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: kimibrat
I fixed this recipe with some minor additions and it was a huge hit. I added garlic powder, black pepper and Mrs. Dash Spicy seasoning. I would recommend using 1/2 strip of bacon rather than 1/3. I wrapped fingerling potatoes and 1/3 was not enough bacon to fully wrap. It also took longer to grill than 20-30 minutes... more like 40 minnutes, they were placed on a veggie grill tray rather than directly on the grill. Hard to turn with toothpicks. While I'm no longer a big bacon eater, I would still make this one again. Delicious and it got lots of positive comments from the party-goers last night!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: doubledare
I used fingerling potatoes instead and they wrapped so well! Then basted in bbq sauce for the extra zing! perfect
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Deb C
Very tasty and so easy. I did make some small changes. I used a full strip of bacon for each potato and also used small red potatoes. I followed another reviewer’s suggestion of not using the ranch dressing. I was doing other things and not watching them closely which caused me to burn some of the potatoes, but they were still excellent.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: angelmommy
amazing. I added a little garlic and onion powder and some pepper. cooked on a charcoal grill. to die for.I will make these again and again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: angelique1256
These were fantastic! I par-boiled the new potatoes and then instead of using ranch mix (which I find too salty) I coated them with olive oil, garlic powder, salt and pepper and then wrapped them with thick bacon (Wright's) and baked on a broiler pan in the oven for 20 minutes or so at 400 degrees. We dipped them in sour cream and they were to-die-for. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes