My Reviews (111)

Barbecued Basil Pork Chops

Grilled on the barbie, these Italian inspired chops are topped with tomato, mozzarella cheese, basil, oregano and garlic. Try for a new flavour of barbecue.
Reviews (111)


22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: SueC
I followed the recipe exactly, but cooked it in the oven and it was very tasty and moist. It came together easy and looked so pretty! Fresh herbs are the key! Thanks so much for sharing as this is definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Spunky Buddy
When reading the recipe, I thought wow, this should be really good! But I made a couple of modifications that proved to be the undoing of this meal. My thought was if I seared the pork chops directly on the grill first, before placing the other ingredients on top, they’d take on a nice grilled exterior and a smokier flavor. After searing the chops I transferred them to a foil tray. I layered on the tomatoes, basil, garlic and mozzarella and then put the pan back on the grill. However, by doing this, the flavors didn’t get a chance to marry. This likely wouldn’t have been the case had I followed the directions as written. As a result, my version was a disappointing two stars, whereas had I followed directions it would likely have been rated the four stars I originally expected it to be.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Shearone
This recipe is titled correctly. It is AMAZING! It is easy to prepare and it is delicious. I used shredded mozzarella because that is the type I had on hand. I prepared 10 pork chops. and served at a brunch, along with fresh fruit, fluffy scrambled eggs, homemade hash browns and toast. I did not explain to our guests what the dish was named other than it was a pork chop. It took less than 3 minutes for someone to say, "This is delicious - it tastes just like pizza. WOW" These chops could be served at any meal or for any occasion. I have added it to my future holiday menu for the Thanksgiving/Christmas holidays. Thank you so much for sharing. A definite keeper for me!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: abapplez
Prepared for the Recipe Group this week. We really enjoyed these tender and juicy chops! Followed the recipe, only adding a little Grill Mates seasoning along with the salt and pepper. Hubby threw the chops on a screaming hot grill for just a minute to sear them before putting them in the pan and proceeding with the recipe. We love that you can taste each of fresh flavors from the tomatoes, basil, oregano and mozarella. Taste like Pizza....but also tastes like summer! This will be be a staple during grilling season. Thanks for sharing, CNM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Wyattdogster
This method makes a juicy and tender pork chop. The chops pretty much 'steam' in their own juices and those of the tomatoes. The flavor of the fresh herbs comes through nicely and the dish is reminiscent of pizza. I used provolone because that's what I had on hand. Be sure to season the chops liberally with salt and pepper! I served this with fettuccine in pesto sauce and a green salad. I made this for Recipe Group and it was a big hit with my family, thanks for sharing this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: jcwiakala
I'm not a huge fan of cooking pork chops as I've made some pretty bad ones in the past. It's hard for me to get good flavor and not overdoing them. But this recipe was so easy and the pork turned out perfect. I didn't think that it tasted too pizza-y. It was more like a beautiful explosion of fresh flavor. It's definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: lisa
Outstanding! We absolutely LOVED these! I made 3 thick boneless chops & also 1 blsl chicken breast using this recipe/method but only leaving on the grill 20 min. Both were equally incredible! Our only complaint is....no leftovers
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: SHORECOOK
FANTASTIC! I loved how easy this was to make. Put it on the grill and forget about it. 25 minutes was perfect for my grill. The combination of oregano and basil with the tomato and mozzarella really reminded me of pizza! I loved being able to use my home grown herbs. I only wish my Ramapo tomatoes were ready. (Next time) My only changes were to use shredded mozzarella and put the herbs on before the tomato. You have a winner in my book, Andy!!! Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I cooked these in the oven, not on the grill. I also increased the garlic a bit and I also seared the pork chops in a hot skillet before proceeding with the rest of the ingredients. I think these would be even better with a homemade marinara sauce, to maybe make them more "pizza" like. This would make a good hot sandwich filling, too, like on ciabatta bread or a good french bread. As is, we liked these. I served them with herbed pasta and a tossed green salad. I'll make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: CNM CATERING
I am the recipe submitter and I just wanted to clarify since there are so many reviews say they dont taste like pizza. These were named by my then 5 yr old daughter that is the only reason they are named "pizza pork chops". I would also like to thank everyone who has tried them for the great reviews. I'm glad you liked them. For those of you who will try them in the future. I hope you like them and will come back and leave a great review. Thanks Again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes