My Reviews (604)

Simple Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Stuff a whole chicken with onion and fresh rosemary for a simple and delicious roast dinner accompanied by roasted vegetables.
Reviews (604)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
GAIL HUSA said:
Something else. I combined this recipe with another one from AllRecipes for lemon chicken. I added the rosemary and onion, but then also rubbed the bird with olive oil, a lot of salt, and the juice from one lemon. The lemon halves then went inside with the rosemary and onion and I added a clove of garlic (will add more next time). I poured a mug of water over it and roasted it for 2 1/2 hours and it was amazing. It was my first time ever cooking a whole chicken and everyone was super impressed. Best to keep the dripping as thats where most of the flavour is. Amazing once poured over top of the meat.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
Linda P.. said:
Something else. This was delicious with all the alterations offered by reviewers. I made the following suggestions based upon all the reviews: *cooked on rack to have crispy bottom *added quartered potatoes (skin on) and carrots to the bottom of tin with some salt and pepper *baked for about 2.5 hours *really stuffed cavity full with rosemary, salt, garlic cloves, lemon halves and onion quarters *Rubbed outside with olive oil *sprinkled outside with rosemary garlic, and fresh ground pepper *dumped tub of chicken stock in the tin with vegetables Sounds like a lot of work, but I was able to get it into the oven in 15 minutes and wow did it smell incredible! Served with some Chardonnay and fresh tomatoes. Enjoy! My kids and husband sure did. I only wish I would have made an extra one at same time to have for salads, sandwiches, etc. this week.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
PATRICECOFF said:
Something else. I have enjoyed cooking for a many years & this was by far the best chicken that has ever come out of my oven. I mixed a tablespoon or so of olive oil w/ crushed garlic, rosemary, paparika & lemon juice and rubbed it under the skin. Follow the 20min. per 500g rule and the most important rule of letting it sit for 15min or so after you've pulled out of the oven and success is as easy as that!
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
Used different ingredients. Excellent! Not the least bit dry. I too used a little olive oil on the skin before baking. I will definately be making this again.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
MICHIYO said:
Something else. Wow. This roast chicken was amazing! I slipped some butter and fresh rosemary under the skin especially around the breast and thighs. I rubbed olive oil over the chicken, squeezed one lemon over it and then used a little salt and fresh ground pepper. I stuffed some fresh rosemary, a few cloves of smashed garlic, the quartered onion,the lemon halves and some sea salt in the cavity. Lastly I poured a tub of chicken stock over the bird and popped it in the oven for about 2 hours while basting every so often. My husband and in-laws were very impressed and thought it was so moist, tasty and delicious. Definately making this again!
 
30 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: AbeLincoln
This was delicious with all the alterations offered by reviewers. I made the following suggestions based upon all the reviews: *cooked on rack to have crispy bottom *added quartered potatoes (skin on) and baby carrots to the bottom of pan with some salt and pepper *baked chicken at 350 degrees for about 2.5 hours *really stuffed cavity full with rosemary, kosher salt, garlic cloves, lemon halves and onion quarters *Rubbed outside with olive oil *sprinkled outside with rosemary garlic, and fresh ground pepper *dumped can of chicken stock in the pan with vegetables Sounds like a lot of work, but I was able to get it into the oven in 15 minutes and wow did it smell incredible! Served with some Chardonney and fresh tomatoes. Enjoy! My kids and husband sure did. I only wish I would have made an extra one at same time to have for salads, quesadillas, etc. this week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: MOLLYES
I combined this recipe with another one from AllRecipes for lemon chicken. I added the rosemary and onion, but then also rubbed the bird with olive oil, a lot of salt, and the juice from one lemon. The lemon halves then went inside with the rosemary and onion and I added a clove of garlic (will add more next time). I poured a cup of water over it and roasted it for 2 1/2 hours at 300 and it was amazing. It was my first time ever cooking a whole chicken and everyone was super impressed. Best to keep the drippings as thats where most of the flavor is. Amazing once poured over top of the meat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: TRESSIEPOO
I have enjoyed cooking for a many years & this was by far the best chicken that has ever come out of my oven. I mixed a tablespoon or so of olive oil w/ crushed garlic, rosemary, paparika & lemon juice and rubbed it under the skin. Follow the 20min. per pound rule and the most important rule of letting it sit for 15min or so after you've pulled out of the oven and success is as easy as that!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: PBHATTAC
I made this twice in the past two weeks - it's astonishing how little work will yield such amazing results! After reading the reviews, I did the following: brined the chicken beforehand (you can find information on that under allrecipes advice), stuffed the cavity with an onion, some rosemary, several cloves of garlic, and two lemon halves (i reserved the juice to pour over the chicken). I put the chicken on top of a bed of veggies (potatoes, carrots, brussel sprouts), seasoned with salt, pepper, and the reserved lemon juice, and drizzled it with a little olive oil. I poured a little water into the pan, popped it in for 2.5 hours at 350 degrees. I made three at once yesterday night for guests - I literally had people standing over the carcasses to pick off microscopic pieces of chicken. Great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: Makanani Cobb-Adams
Wow. This roast chicken was awesome! I slipped some butter and fresh rosemary under the skin especially around the breast and thighs. I rubbed olive oil over the chicken, squeezed one lemon over it and then used a little garlic salt and fresh ground pepper. I stuffed some fresh rosemary, a few cloves of smashed garlic, the quartered onion,the lemon halves and some sea salt in the cavity. Lastly I poured a can of chicken broth over the bird and popped her in the oven for about 2 hours while basting every so often. My husband and in-laws were very impressed and thought it was so moist, tasty and delicious. Definately making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes