My Reviews (81)

Garlic Rosemary Roast Chicken

A roast chicken can also be packed with a flavour punch as shown in this recipe that has loads of garlic, butter and rosemary.
Reviews (81)


Comment:
29 Oct 2009
lynjoymac said:
Used different ingredients. I make this recipe with coriander instead of rosemary which I find too overpowering with chicken! Also lovely with the addition of pistachio nuts, almond slivers or chopped macadamias to the butter.
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
LARSENS said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This recipe is wonderful, and as easy as baking a chicken normally is. It is nice, due to the nice medley of fresh herbs and lemon. One note, I didn't add all the butter mixture to the chicken, as it was quite a lot. Half of the mixture (with the full amount of herbs, just half the butter) works wonderfully as well. Or make the full batch, and use the rest of the herb butter for bread, etc. Additionally, I did not have kitchen string, and so used dental floss (clean, of course!) and it worked perfectly! Not the quickest of recipes, it is a crowd pleaser.
 
Comment:
12 Apr 2010
claudiamr said:
Altered ingredient amounts. It was delish, however, i did halve the amount of butter, but kept the rest of the ingredients as per the recipe. Also, I should have left the flavours develop a bit more before roasting.... will definately make it again =)
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
NICOLES3 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Fabulous! I followed the recipe, only I used 1/2 the butter; even though I had a large chicken, it was still enough. The chicken was very moist and flavourful. My husband and I just LOVED it. Thanks for sharing!!!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: GLORIA BERNADETTE
I tried this with boneless chicken breasts and stuffed the garlic and rosemary in between the skin. I would cut down on the rosemary and omit the garlic cloves next time.
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: LDALLAS
Very good. I followed exactly. None of the flavours were too strong. It was just right. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: SAHLE
I liked it but my wife didn't. I really like garlic and so does she but I guess she doesn't like it as much as I do. As much as I enjoyed this recipe I still felt gulity using all that butter.
 
30 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: LARSENS
This recipe is wonderful, and as easy as baking a chicken normally is. It is nice, due to the nice medley of fresh herbs and lemon. One note, I didn't add all the butter mixture to the chicken, as it was quite a lot. Half of the mixture (with the full amount of herbs, just half the butter) works wonderfully as well. Or make the full batch, and use the rest of the herb butter for bread, etc. Additionally, I did not have kitchen twine, and so used dental floss (clean, of course!) and it worked perfectly! Not the quickest of recipes, it is a crowd pleaser.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: NICOLES3
Fabulous! I followed the recipe, only I used 1/2 cup butter instead of 1 cup; even though I had a 4.5 pound chicken, it was still enough. The chicken was very moist and flavorful. I changed the way I roasted it, though----I roasted it at 500 degrees for 20 minutes, breast side down, and then I flipped the chicken and turned the temp down to 375 and baked until done. Nice crispy chicken. My husband and I just LOVED it. Thanks for sharing!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: TURTLNSITE
This chicken had great flavor. However, the cooking time is way off. I made the butter as directed and indeed there was a lot of it. But I was able to still use it as accents for the rest of the meal...some in the mashed potatoes, a little on the steamed green beans, and finally some on the table to spread on the bread. I still had a lot left over, so I can use this later in the week for other things. I will make this recipe again and next time I will take into account that the time needs to be pretty much doubled. The flavor was what made the recipe. I am going to look for more by this person!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes