My Reviews (38)

Yoghurt Couscous Salad

A quick, healthy salad with a base of couscous, chickpeas and vegetables in a creamy yoghurt and salad dressing.
Reviews (38)


27 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: 3BadBoxers
I gave it a five star rating as long as you make some adjustments - particularly, use 1 cup couscous and 2 cups water - you only need to let the couscous stand for 5-6 minutes - not 30. I also cut back the onion to 1/2 a small one. I also used dates instead of raisins, which I highly recommend doing. I also used the couscous with the pine nuts and used some slivered almonds I had. I added some cucumber as well and used almost one whole can of chick peas. I used buttermilk ranch dressing - the same amount called for in the recipe. I realized at the last minute I didn't have any yogurt, so I just added more ranch and it was still very good, but I'm sure it would be even better with the yogurt. Great recipe though, and you can really do alot of variations with it. It's a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: QUAKERJULES
This was a really yummy recipe. I used FF ranch dressing and FF yogurt. I also used whole wheat couscous from Trader Joe's and cooked it without the butter. Everyone at dinner loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2003
Reviewed by: Jennifer
I served this as a warm side dish instead of as a salad. I replaced the red onions with carmalized videlias, and lightly sauteed the red peppers. I also omitted the cumin. It was fantastic. I had it cold the next day for lunch--this will definitely be made again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: CORKY21122112
We go on frequent picnics here in Sydney Australia with the same group of friends and they each take a salad, usually the same salad each time. I tried this new recipe and everyone commented on how tasty it was. The salad was extremely simple to make. An absolute must for the next BBQ.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2002
Reviewed by: LISA PERLOS
This was a really tasty recipe. It definitely needs to be completely chilled so make ahead. I used fat free ranch dressing and it tasted great. It is a complete side salad with both grains and veggies-very filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: MOSCHOPDINES
Quite delicious! Variations: I used sundried tomato couscous, 1/2 c. firm tofu, pine nuts instead of almonds, and finely chopped spinach in lieu of parsley. Seems like a bizarre combination with the medley of ingredients, but it does work well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2000
Reviewed by: MST3K
Couscous is always quick so it's great when we're pressed for time. I was thrilled to find this delicious recipe which I've already used about 4 times. All our family and friends love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2001
Reviewed by: Cheryl v.
This salad tasted great! I used only half a red pepper and half the onion and it was still a fabulous salad. I also reduced the fat a bit by using light mayo and yogurt. Try it, you'll love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: CHRISTINE1906
Thanks for this recipe! I have made it twice- the first time I only added 1/2 an onion and found it quite strong in the salad if you eat it by itself, but OK with other salads, BBQ meat etc. The second time I left out the onion and it was better (I don't really like onion, though, so that's why I liked it more without). Also I made it with 3/4 cup of Garlic and Pepper savoury yoghurt (Brownes brand, available here in Australia) instead of combining salad dressing and plain yoghurt and it was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: ESTEPHAN
Very nice. I wasn't sure what was meant by creamy salad dressing, so i followed some of the other reviewers and used 1/3 c ranch dressing and 1/3 c yogurt for dressing and yogurt. Very nice flavor, great with grilled chicken and a salad. Update: I have tried this a couple different ways, and I recommend cutting way back on the onion. Also, I found that the texture was not nearly as good when I used whole wheat couscous, so I don't recommend that. Refer to other reveiwers regarding cooking time -- they are right!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes