My Reviews (10)

Beef and Pork Burgers

This is sure to be a favourite with all the family - young and old! Serve with your favourite bread rolls, salads and sauces!
Reviews (10)


18 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: ChiTownChef
These were OK, but I think personally for us they were wayyyy too "oniony" with both a large onion and a package of onion soup. Flavorwise, they have potential, but I would not make these again without making some adjustments like: 1 - grating a half onion and pressing out the liquid instead of using whole diced onion (don't like chunks of raw onion bites in my burger). 2 - Because onion soup is loaded with salt, there is no need to add more. 3 - Not sure why two eggs are called for since there is no binder like bread crumbs, so next time I'd use just one. 4 - These also were a bit dry and normally I'd never use lean beef in my burger. The pork sausage added a nice flavor enhancement, but the flavor of a good burger comes from the fat and there is nothing better than ground chuck. Next time I will substitute one pound of the lean with an 85% chuck. HINT: When you form the patties, poke the middle of the patty with your finger to form an indention in the meat. They cook more evenly on the grill.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Mesa Mom
I completely agree with the first review left by "QueenPin" - thanks for the helpful hints! VERY flavorful with the modifications. I grilled a bunch of them and froze them to bring to work for lunch & dinner meals. Just throw in a few romaine lettuce leaves or a burger bun, and voila! Instant, FABULOUS meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Kelly
Delicious and moist burger!! I had some spaghetti squash, so I added about a cup to the mix. Will definitely make these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Occasional Cooker
These were good, moist, juicy burgers but just very oniony. So you need to like onions if you want to try this burger. I scaled this down to use 1 lb of 80/20 ground beef and left out the pork sausage. I made a copycat recipe of the onion soup mix using a recipe from this site except I left out the salt and followed the rest of the recipe as written. It was good but oniony with both the dry onion soup as well as the additional chopped onion. Luckily for us we like onions and liked the burgers. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: soupisgoodfood33
i used a little less pork sausage more like 1/4 pound and i reduced the onion soup mix by half since the two reviews said it was too much. these were alright i might make them again but i wouldnt add the sausage ( its just weird in there in my opinion)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2019
Reviewed by: Sweet Pickles Mom
I cut down onion soup by 1/2 to cut the salt; way too much sodium. They were ok as I have made similar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: Missy2000
These were fabulous! I made exactly as the recipe instructs and was very impressed. I will definitely make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: HeatherKnechtel
Love this recipe! I didn't add the chopped onion though as, according to my son, they are worse than chicken pox, and his texture detection is too well developed to think o can get away with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: Lucy
Really liked it, were juicy and flavourful. Did not put the real onion in, just the onion soup mix. I also used a couple of hot Italian sausages instead of plain pork - added some heat and flavour. Finally, I left the patties in the refrigerator for an hour or so to set before cooking. Helps keep them together on the BBQ. I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: Coop
I'm a guy who loves his burger and this one was outstanding. Very moist and very flavourful. I added a little bread crumbs and diced up 1/2 an apple and put it in burger. Was one of the best burger I have ever had. The organic pork burger helped.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes