My Reviews (39)

White Wine Sauce

A delicious sauce that is a perfect accompaniment to either a grilled or baked white meat or chicken. For a subtle flavour change, try a different herb to the suggested tarragon; or add a little cream to cut down on the acidity and give the sauce a full richness.
Reviews (39)


30 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: BONF
I put this on Lobster ravioli and it wasn't good on that, but I can see where it might be much better on fish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Lisa H
Great basic recipe for chicken, fish or pasta. This is a staple for me. You can add other herbs and spices to suite whatever you are using this recipe for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: PUDDIN7584
The sauce was ok but strongly disliked by one of my roommates and the other said it was good...so mixed reviews in my house. I will give it another try considering this was my first run at the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: swm
My hubby doesn't like a lot of sauce and I like a lot of sauce. This recipe was a good compromise. I served it over frozen asparagus/cheese ravioli from Costco and steamed brocollini. I gave it 5 stars because it added a zing to a basic meal with minimal effort. I had to substitute fresh ingredients with dried (parsley, onions) and it still came out pretty well. I also let it simmer a little longer to thicken up the sauce. I imagine it can only get better with the right ingredients so look forward to the next attempt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: stephanieforrer
I completely agree with Natalie E -the tarragon in this sauce totally overpowered and ruined it. None of the three people in my house that ate it liked it. (In fact, everyone disliked it a lot) I even went back to make sure I prepared it properly and didn't leave out any ingredients I was so disappointed in the way it came out and I had not made any mistakes. I served this over a white fish as suggested. I will definitely not use this recipe again and do not recommend it. Perhaps if someone really loves tarragon and just wants a sauce that taste like that, they would like it?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Rachel
This sauce was amazing. I tasted it when it was done as is (minus lemon and tarragon because I didn't have any on hand) and although delicious, I was craving some cheese in my sauce... So I added some garlic and herb white cheddar and that made it phenomenal. We had it over shrimp, chicken and rice (it was delicious mixed in with plain white rice). Everyone loved it and I will definitely be making it again soon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: David
Delicious... substituted fresh thyme for the tarragon and served over oven baked Alaskan Cod on a bed of fresh mixed greens.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2008
Reviewed by: havenhatch
This was excellent! I simmered it longer than the instructions said, and also added baby shrimp to this. Poured it over asparagus, and would be great with pasta and some sliced black olives! Olive Garden has a dish very similar called shrimp scampi.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2018
Reviewed by: Allens2001
This was the perfect sauce for over baked flounder. My teenage sons loved the sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2018
Reviewed by: Gena Haynes Chreiteh
Easy to make and perfect with a simple baked snapper. Next time I’ll use less parsley and add other fresh herbs. Definitely a very good basic to experiment with.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes