My Reviews (93)

Roast Lamb with Garlic and Rosemary

You can cook your potatoes in the roasting pan around the roast and make a gravy using the juices. The only other thing you need is some fresh veggies. Watch this recipe being made in the Allrecipes Roast Lamb Video.
Reviews (93)


21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: nora muhammad
This simple way of roasting lamb is pretty much an institution in Australia.. its THE special family meal and there's nothing to compare. One important point though, unlike roasting a chicken,it's important to turn the leg over approx. half way through the cooking time (trust me on this, I have probably done this hundreds of times over 35 years). So, its a good idea to put the slits (stuffed with slivers of fresh garlic and sprigs of fresh rosemary) on both sides of the leg. Rub lightly with olive oil and throw in the oven.
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
zmo said:
Something else. very easy I made this leg of lamb for a party. I roasted my piece of lamb on 200 for one hour to brown, then added about a pint of water and covered the lamb, turned down the temp to 140 and let it slow cook for about 3 hours. 45 mins before it was done I added small new potatoes and 1 large onion sliced. I let it rest for about 20 mins before slicing. It was so tender you could cut it with a fork. I made a gravy out of the juices that were left.
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
MANXGIRL said:
Used different ingredients. I made this tonight for dinner and it was just wonderful! I rubbed olive oil on the lamb before adding the spices and used dried rosemary instead of fresh. I also cut slits in both the top and bottom of the leg of lamb for the garlic and used more garlic. For a 2.25kg leg of lamb, I roasted it uncovered at 180 for 2-1/2 hours.
 
08 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Wenya
This was the most delicious roast lamb! Served it to guests and they asked for more!!
 
08 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: tanibaby
Loved this recipe. It was my first lamb roast and a hit with hubby and the two little ones
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Stonehill26
This was my first time making lamb roast and it turned out great. My husband always orders lamb at restaurants and he LOVED it. I served it with mint sauce and have enough left over for another meal or two. I added fresh lemon juice and used dried rosemary. Thanks for the recipe!
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: LARINA
The roast was very tender and crisp on the outside. Delicious!
 
17 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: Cherry87
Very nice and really easy
 
04 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Sammy L
This simple way of roasting lamb is pretty much an institution in Australia.. its THE special family meal and there's nothing to compare. One important point though, unlike roasting a chicken,it's important to turn the leg over approx. half way through the cooking time (trust me on this, I have probably done this hundreds of times over 35 years). So, its a good idea to put the slits (stuffed with slivers of fresh garlic and sprigs of fresh rosemary) on both sides of the leg. Rub lightly with olive oil and throw in the oven. Better than dinner with Tom Cruise! (re old lamb TV ad...)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2007
Reviewed by: Bayla Meltzer
I made this tonight for dinner and it was just wonderful! I rubbed olive oil on the lamb before adding the spices and used dried rosemary instead of fresh. I also cut slits in both the top and bottom of the leg of lamb for the garlic and used more garlic. For a 5 pound leg of lamb, I roasted it uncovered at 350 for 2-1/2 hours.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes