My Reviews (8)

Caraway and Treacle Bread

A bread flavoured with treacle and caraway seeds, and plump juicy raisins. Serve it while it's still warm to enjoy the sweet aroma.
Reviews (8)


04 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: DEBBIM
an excellent bread, my husband loves it, nice, moist and not too heavy, but filling enough for teenagers
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: PAT H
perfect taste and texture
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: sueb
I made a few changes for the preferences of my family; I used yogurt instead of the milk and vinegar, honey instead of molasses, and 1/2 of the flour was whole wheat. I found that I still needed about an extra 1/2 cup flour. Caraway seeds give the bread a great flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Natalie Smiles
This was so tasty, even good toasted the next day. I used golden raisins, and increased the flour by 1/2 cup. I also add a little gluten to all of my bread so that it rises nicely. GREAT recipe -- I'll make it again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: JENNIFER72_00
This bread had a really nice flavour, but the dough was extremely wet and sticky. I finished the bread off in the oven but even though I greased my bread pan, after 30 minutes, the loaf ended up burning and sticking to the pan and I had to scrape it out with a spatula. I would not make this recipe again, but I might try adding raisins to one of my favorite caraway rye bread recipes. I think it would have the same flavor without the mess.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: oxypery
It is a 5 star bread! Since I changed a couple of things, I gave 4, not to be misleading. I substituted raisins with cranberries, and used cane sugar instead of brown. Instead of a bread machine, I warmed up the sour milk mixture carefully and put 2 teaspoonfuls of active dry yeast then waited around 20 minutes. (I should've put the sugar in there too. Well, next time...) Then I mixed everything together and let the dough rise overnight. In the morning, I punched it down and put it in a loaf pan to rise again. In the evening, it was ready to be baked for 35 minutes. The next time, I will try 30 minutes. Very delicious recipe! Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Kathy
I also used honey instead of molasses. I would add more sugar and caraway next time as it was a little bland. Used a cup of golden raisins. Made wonderful toast. Will def make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: eltflannery
I left out the caraway seeds - don't care for those - and used apple cider vinegar. My family loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes