My Reviews (13)

Vegetable Stir-Fry with Wholemeal Pasta

There's really nothing better then fresh sauteed vegetables. Red capsicum, carrots, broccoli and fresh mushrooms, stir fried and served with wholemeal pasta.
Reviews (13)


28 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: AUSTINS
Wonderful! I too changed the sugar to Agave (equal amount). I used cornstarch to thicken the liquid at the end to make more of a sauce as it was very runny. I might try rice next time instead of Pasta for a change. My family absolutely loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: SKS
I made this the other night and thought it was good, but agreed with another reviewer that found the vinegar flavor a little strong. I added tofu and omitted the edamame and it was tasty and filling. I also used one package of udon noodles (8.8 oz.) and it was plenty of noodles for two people. Also, if you haven't used sesame oil before, be really careful - it gets hot very quickly and can spatter everywhere if you don't add the veggies fast enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Kym Cox Surridge
This was delicious. I love the combination of edamame and cashews--so rich and filling (which is why I made it without the pasta). I wouldn't have thought to add balsamic vinegar to an Asian-inspired stir-fry, but it works in this dish. I used agave nectar instead of sugar, omitted the carrots because I don't like them cooked, used baby bellas instead of shiitakes (not a fan of the texture), and added a few bean sprouts at the end. This is a definite keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Daniela
I found this recipe to be a bit too vinegary. In the future I will cut down on the vinegar. Also I served it over rice, but the rice over absorbed the vinegar taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: holarosa
This was not bad. I made a few adjustments such as serving with rice instead of pasta and not frying vegetables in sesame oil which I'm glad I didn't because there was just so much sauce already and it was a little too thick and gloppy for my taste overall. But the taste itself is pretty good, and combination of vegetables and cashews was nice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Phyllis
Made this for a quick dinner last night, and it was YUMMMMM!!!!!! Love the combination of crispy vegs and a simple but delicious sauce. Satisfied my friend's craving for pasta and mine for vegs, and we both went back for seconds. I substituted about 1-1/2 T brown sugar for the white, and regular bow tie pasta instead of whole wheat (didn't have whole wheat). I'd like to try it next time with the whole wheat pasta. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Gwynne Kloch
I loved this recipe - it used sauces from my Asian cabinet (soya sauce and sesame oil) and condiments from my Western repetoire (balsamic vinegar and EVOO) to make a refreshing, tangy sauce. It was a great way to make edamame (the original way I found the recipe). Switched cauliflower for broccoli and button mushrooms for the shitaake and it was still great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Tracy
The flavor was good, but I wasn't thrilled. AND, this made WAY more than my husband and I could eat in one week, so some of it ended up going bad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: gapch1026
I love cashews and they were delicious with the veggies and sauce. What I changed in this recipe was that I sauteed onion, red pepper and broccoli in olive oil, only used the sesame oil in the sauce. Also added a sliced leftover chicken breast that had been flavored with balsamic vinegar. Will keep this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: alwaysbetty
REVIEW ADDITION: I served this cold at a family picnic with no changes. Many compliments! This is delicious. My teen just decided to be a vegetarian and I was looking for high protein meals. I made a half recipe and served it over noodles. I omitted the mushrooms, used EVOO instead of dark sesame oil and red wine vinegar for the balsamic vinegar. Thank you DVDANDDV, she went back for seconds!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes