My Reviews (20)

Vanille Kipferl

Swiss crescent biscuits with a hint of vanilla. These buttery biscuits are shaped like little crescent moons and dusted in a vanilla icing sugar.
Reviews (20)


21 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: FoodObsessedMom
A helpful hint: 7/8 c. butter is 14 TB. (or 1/2 c. + 6 TB). I didn't have almonds on hand, but put in about 1 tsp imitation almond extract and it was delicious. If your mixture looks more like crumble than dough after combining everything, that's ok! When you go to squeeze and shape the kipferls, the crumbs do turn into dough. Very delicious. I can't wait to share these with my mother-in-law who loves kipferls! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: megank
I first tried making these before christmas, and I tried skipping the step to put them in the freezer. Bad idea. They were burnt on the bottom and not cooked in the middle. So I tried again to make them, after christmas, and did all steps and they turned out wonderful!! I cant wait to make them next christmas and have people try them. My husband is from Germany and said that they were great. If you dont have vanilla sugar, and dont have the time to make it, I found a website that says you can make it by mixing 1 tsp of vanilla extract with 2 cups of sugar, mix it up and try to let it spread out in a large peice of tupperware, or a baking dish. After about an hour or so it will be hard, and you can just break it apart with a fork. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: abwynn
I wanted to warn anyone using this recipe for the first time - the amount of butter given, 7 tablespoons, is NOT CORRECT! I made it as stated, and the dough was unbelievably crumbly, even more so than a pie crust, let alone a cookie. I went ahead and baked one batch, but the longer I thought about it the more I felt something was wrong. So I searched and found several other versions of vanilleklipfer - all of which had at least twice as much butter. I mixed an extra 4 tbs into the remaining dough I had left, and those cookies turned out perfectly. The first batch, made as written, was dry. If you double the butter, these are delicious cookies, but please do not make as written!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Aichan
I started with an original Vanille Kipferl recipe from my husband's grandmother in Germany. Since the measurements were all metric, I looked for a US version recipe and tried this one, trying to incorporate it with the original recipe. What a success! For the ground almonds, I bought the bag of Almond Flour at Trader Joe's. It was perfect! In Germany, you can buy little bags of "Vanille Zucker" (vanilla sugar), but since I didn't have any in my pantry, I used Vanilla extract instead and couldn't notice a difference. If any, I prefer the extract since it leaves a little vanilla aftertaste, more than the vanilla sugar, in my opinion. This one's a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: Heather
These are good, simple cookies. I think about a teaspoon of almond extract added to the batter would be helpful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Sara
Awesome ... my husband is German and he says these taste just like they do in Germany! Plus all our American friends loved them to. Watch out, they can be addictive! :o)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Spatz
These were wonderful. My husband was born and raised in Austria and his eyes lit up when I made these. He could not stop eating them. It is true that they taste even better if you can hold off a couple days from eating them. They become very tender with a firm chew and deep flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: naui
Brilliant recipe - thanks so much! Made them for the first time this week and everyone loved them! I am not much of a baker but these were so easy and yum! Will have to make another batch soon - these ones wont last till Christmas :o)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: WHIRLEDPEAS
We loved these! I found this recipe because someone gave me a container of vanilla sugar. I wasn't sure what to use it for. We tried to wait 3 days before eating them, but we failed. They were all gone well before then I plan on making them again when I do my holiday baking!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: SAXAMY
These are the favorite Christmas cookies of my German boyfriend, who lives in America... but I actually made these as a surprise for Valentines Day! I added red food coloring to the dough, and shaped them into hearts. They turned out really cute, and they were delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes