My Reviews (60)

Orange Kumara Chips

Kumara chips are a great option when plain old chips just won't do it. This recipe spices it up with a wee bit of lime zest, chilli and coriander.
Reviews (60)


29 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: The Messy Cook
NOTE FROM RECIPE MAKER: When submitted, my instructions said to "boil till fork tender". Allrecipes added to that sentence "about 20 minutes". Now that I have see two reviews stating the fries/wedges are too "mushy" I am thinking cooks are boiling for 20 minutes and not until fork tender. If you boil till fork tender, the "mushy" quality should hopefully not be an issue. Remember, recipes are a guideline to discovering what you like best. So learn, practice, experiment, and don't be afraid to mess. Happy Cooking!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Amanda Bristow Mallett
Fabulous flavor, though making sure they're only fork-tender is important! I used 1 tbsp table salt instead of kosher, and will decrease it to 2 tsp table salt next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Christine
followed directions exactly - make sure you use sea salt it really puts it over the edge. Big hit at our picnic. Shame on the reviewer who gave 1 star for something the submitter can't control.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: terriyaki
Can't wait to try these! You have no control over the nutrional info. How dare you be docked stars for that! Some people.....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: linda2d
I made these twice. As directed the first time and didn't care for the texture. Second time I cubed the potato, tossed them in the oil and seasonings, and oven roasted them. We normally like just plain sweet potatoes but this seasoning blend is a really nice contrast. I did not use the cilantro the second time and we likes the flavor both ways.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: CookinBug
Yum! Only change I made was to microwave the potato wedges in a bowl with a tiny bit of water for a couple minutes instead of boiling them. Very good. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Jog Dish
Wow, absolutley delicious! I mixed all of the spices except for the lime zest and cilantro in a big ziplock with the EVOO and tossed the potatoes in it before baking, then coated them with the zest and Cilantro after taking them out of the oven. I can't wait to try these in the summer time on the grill! Thanks for the recipe, this is going to be put into regular rotation!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: SLJ6
Great....never made sweet potato fries before...my only change was to use smoked paprika instead of regular and I omitted the cilantro since I had none on hand. Delicious, spicy, smokey and sweet all at the same time....will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: kayakjoan
I did not have cilantro. Other then not adding this ingredient I followed the recipe as written. The sweet potato's were not boiled long enough (should have cooked longer) Baked for 20 min. as stated and they were still not fully cooked and started to have a burnt look, turned them several times!! The seasoning mixture has a unique flavor especially with the grated lime. Too much salt though! I might try this again and boil the potato's until fork tender and cut back on some of the ingredients. Will not give up! This recipe sounds good and I love sweet potato fries.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Walter VanWinckel
The recipe reminds me - I put salt in my blender and grind it small. Makes for a nice coating with less salt. If you grind salt in a blender don't smell the fog of powder that hovers at the top of the blander - you don't want it in your lungs. Good on pop corn too if you buy your own kernels and pop them in the microwave.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes