My Reviews (180)

Quick Ham Casserole

This easy casserole contains leftover ham, macaroni, cheese, soup and bread crumbs in a creamy soup base.
Reviews (180)


05 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: JENNLYNN
I used suggestions from many different people to make this a tasty recipe. I cooked celery, onion, and fresh mushrooms in some marg. and added it to the pasta. I also stirred some seasoned pepper, thyme, garlic, parsley, oregano, and seasoned salt into the veg. while they were cooking. I used a full can of milk and added some lt. sour cream to the soup mixture. For the chz., I used about a cup of mild cheddar and a cup of sharp cheddar (both reduced fat). For the topping, I mixed seasoned breadcrumbs with saltine crackers and about two tablespoons of marg. I also sprinkled a little sharp cheese under the topping. This filled a 9x13 pan. My husband loved this and went back for seconds. I definately recommend making changes to the original recipe to jazz it up, otherwise this would be very bland.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: kelcampbell
This was really good, but I did alter the recipe slightly. I sauteed a medium sized onion along with 1 clove of garlic and added that to the cheese sauce. The only change I made to the cheese sauce was to add 1 tsp of dry mustard powder. I cooked 4 cups of macaroni as suggested by other reviewers and I also added about 1-1.5 cups of diced leftover ham. Lastly, instead of breadcrumbs for the topping, I crushed up some Ritz crackers, mixed with some shredded cheddar cheese and dumped a few tablespoons of melted butter of the top; this is a fabulous topping that my mother uses when she makes mac & cheese. The dish turned out really, really good...but I think next time I make it, I will add 3 cups of macaroni only, DH and I would like the cheese sauce a little more moist, but this is only a personal preference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: HEBH
Wow, this was a great comfort food casserole, so quick and easy. I followed previous suggestions and my own ideas. I used 4 cups macaroni, 2 cups shredded SHARP Cheddar cheese, the regular cream of mushroom (NOT fat free/low fat), used a WHOLE can of milk, added 1/4 cup my favorite grainy mustard (per previous suggestions), baked 15 minutes and then added my version of the bread crumbs for the last 15 minutes. For the topping I used 1/4 cup Italian bread crumbs, 10 crushed saltines, 1/4 cup (will use 1/2 cup next time), and moistened with 1 tablespoon vegetable oil (could use melted butter). This was moist and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: ColleenK.
This recipe was very good...however, I added a few "extras" to ensure that the casserole would be a success. I added a 1/2 tsp. of garlic salt, a 1/2 tsp. of pepper, used about 1/2 cup of low-fat sour cream, 3 tbsp. of low-fat mayo, and 1/2 cup of swiss cheese. The end result was magnificent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Rachel
Modify the recipe as follows: Use 3 cups macaroni, 1 1/2 cups ham, Ritz crackers (or the like) mixed with a bit of Parmesan to top it off, a whole can of milk, increase cheese to 2 cups and add an additional 1/2 can of Cream of Celery soup. Also add vegetable - I love this with broccoli or asparagus, but corn, carrots, mushrooms, etc...all work well. Note that if you use potatoes you will need to increase the amount of liquid to suit to absorbtion. I also add seasonings, including garlic, thyme, marjoram and pepper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: CRVGRL
I can not believe how many people are saying it is good. Ham dinner leftovers deserve much better!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: Emily
This was a pretty good way to help get rid of all our ham leftovers. I followed some previous suggestions and included a bag of frozen broccoli - this was a very good suggestion to round out the meal. We also included more milk as some previous posters suggested but when we make it again, I think I'll stick with the 1 cup like the recipe recommends (just too milky for our tastes). We did include more cheese, but we're cheese-lovers so we do that most of the time. I can see where the 1/4 cup of dijonaise mustard would add some extra kick. We might try that next time. Definitely a tasty way to re-do the ham, overall! I think this one is a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: EDAAB
Great recipe for a busy household. I think next time I will add some frozen peas to make a complete meal. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: DYLNIC
this was good. I added 1/4 cup of dijonnaise to it. My kids loved it and I got left overs. I am definately going to make this with leftover easter ham. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: DANIELA92
I always make this to use up leftover Christmas ham. We like this recipe, but only with modifications. As written, it's very plain. This is what I do: Sauteed half an onion in some butter, then added the ham (about 1 1/2 cups), 4 oz. cubed cream cheese, and about 1/2 cup frozen peas. I seasoned this mixture with a little salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, and hot pepper flakes. I then combined cream of mushroom soup with 1 c. milk and 1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese in a big bowl, and added the ham mixture and cooked penne pasta to the soup mixture, mixed, poured into casserole and baked in 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes