My Reviews (11)

Chewy Coconut Walnut Bars

These bars are moist and chewy with coconut and walnuts. The recipes dates from the nineteen thirties.
Reviews (11)


06 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
These bars are very very good. Moist and flavorful. We love coconut and walnuts, so I increased each by 1/2 cup. For an extra sweet treat, frost with cream cheese icing. These freeze well, too. Thanks Juanita!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: BlondeCook
These bars were fairly simple to make and the ingredients were on hand. They were pretty good, however I thought the crust was a little bit too salty. If you use unsalted butter, then adding the salt is probably a good idea, but if you are using salted butter, don't add very much salt. It doesn't need it. I will probably make this again, but I think I will continue my search for the ultimate coconut bar cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah-May
I find these overly sweet and soft. The best part of them for me was the walnuts. I will not make them again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: Nancy Gallatin
My grandmother raised me and told me when I was 6 yrs old that if I could read I could cook. This was one of the first cookies that she had me bake. She substituted pecans for the walnuts. She had to print the recipe for me because I could not read cursive. Still have the recipe card, it is 60 yrs old.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Sally Pye
These bars were magnificent! I used Nutiva red palm oil / coconut oil shortening and the crust simply melted in your mouth. Absolutely phenomenal. I also used unsweetened shredded coconut and the overall taste was sweet but certainly not overly so. I gave a bunch out to my neighbors and the response was incredible. Definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: KristineGrix
I think the measurements for the tin are wrong, but other than that, all fine. I had some dessicated coconut to use up, also some walnuts, but not quite enough, so I added some flaked almonds, mixed nuts, and a few chopped glace cherries. Lovely, and it used up lots of things in my cupboard.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
18 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: April Drury Moore
Turned out great. My hubby doesn't like nuts so I substituted dark chocolate chips for the nuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: elle
This recipe similar to the recipe my mother made and was a personal favorite. We called them chews. The main difference was her recipe did not have salt or walnuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Biggsy22
These cookie bars brought back such great memories. As a child in the 60's we went to Nanny's house in Halifax and these were the buffet drawer favorite. Captured the memory exactly! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: KBots
Yum! I halved the recipe and baked in a 9x9 inch brownie pan, so I cut each baking time by 5 minutes. For my fiancee's benefit, I replaced the walnuts with 1/2 cup chocolate chips and I also added 1/4 cup rolled oats. I chose this recipe because the name was interesting and because I prefer classic recipes, but I'm glad they turned out well. ;p Going into the recipe book for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes