My Reviews (16)

Slow Cooked Fresh Tomato Pasta Sauce

This is a slow cooked vegetarian pasta sauce with tons of vegetables. You can substitute for the butter and leave out the ricotta for a vegan sauce.
Reviews (16)


27 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: KUMMER
This was an excellent recipe until we added the cheese. With all the fresh veggies it tasted wonderful as it was cooking. When we added the ricotta it was terrible. We made it again and just served the fresh sauce on pasta, it was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: REDLACE59
After hours of cooking this turned out horrible. There are 4 adults and 2 children at my table and none of them liked it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: Tara Nichol Thomas
This recipie was very good. If you substitute a tsp of crushed, dried red peppers for the fresh red peppers, it gives the sauce a serious kick. This sauce also freezes quite well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Sarah
very good but a little too chunky for the little ones! I put it in a blender to make it a little smoother.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Pawsforacause
This is sooooo tasty! Before reading any of the reviews, I chose to leave out the Ricotta as I was looking for a meatless tomato base, not a creamy base. I also added 2 grated carrots and a couple extra cloves of grated garlic. Also, I used canned/chopped tomatoes as I didn't have time to boil/skin/mash them and it turned out excellent. This is for sure a keeper! Add a nice ceasar salad and dinner is served!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: SweetBasil
Was looking for a good, chunky meatless pasta sauce and this was pretty good. After reading reviews, skipped the ricotta. I also added lots of fresh basil and a couple of diced carrots.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2009
Very good! I left the ricotta cheese out and add that to the sauce on the noodles. It makes a lot; there are several containers in the freezer ready to reheat for a quick meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Magnolia Blossom
Lacked salt and the amount of tomato paste tended to give it somewhat of a bitter taste. Good base recipe, but would tweak it. Be careful if using a crockpot to be sure & check after 5-6 hours. Sauce may start to burn after 6 hours depending on your crockpot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Teri Matheny
I too left out the Ricotta..and the brown sugar...Fabulous sauce, I will be making/freezing this all the time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Rhonda Brock Fuller
This was great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes