My Reviews (30)

Moist Chocolate Brownies with Chocolate Icing

These are very moist brownies which are almost like a rich dense cake. I'm sure you will love them like I do!
Reviews (30)


28 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Worldwomble
Very easy to make, very rich (I would recommend cutting it into small squares). Lovely and moist. Recipe makes a lot of brownies, so it's good for a large gathering.
 
10 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: SWEETNEST
I debated between 3 and 4 stars, and went for the higher rating because the product is good. However, this is NOT a brownie. This is a very dense cake. I doubled the chocolate at other's suggestion and felt the chocolate-ness of it was perfect. I also substituted one cup of brown sugar for one of the cups of white sugar. As the other Texas Brownie (cake) suggests cinnamon, I a tsp of cinnamon to this recipe. I also used the frosting recipe from Texas Brownies I. I am very happy with the finished product but again must stress that this is not a Brownie - it is a moist dense chocolate cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: GINAH1
These are awesome! They are more like a cake than a brownie. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Kate
I made these and brought them to work for a co-worker who is from Texes, it was her birthday. Everyone raved about them! I feel bad....the brownies took the spotlight over her birthday!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Lark817
I loved this recipe and so did my husband, especially with a scoop of good vanilla ice cream. I had to make a few changes because I can't find buttermilk in my town in Mexico; I used 1 cup of sour cream for the buttermilk, used 10 tbsp. of cocoa rather than 4-1/2 tbsp., used 1 cup of coffee for 1 cup of water, and added 1 large tsp. of cinnamon. I frosted with a can of frosting I had in the cupboard. They were great, very cakey and really delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Kathey
I was very disappointed with this recipie. I have been looking for the original Texas Brownie recipie that I had & I was very happy to find this one. I made this recipe twice and neither time it turned out well. I know the last recipe I had called for instant coffee, but I used water instead, like this recipe. I found it very bland and lacking in 'chocolate' flavor. I do not recommend this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Jen Metcalf
Definitely a cake - not a brownie, tho i think the size & richness qualifies this to be called Texas Brownies! Speaking of size - this recipe made TWO jelly roll pans (so i doubled the frosting) - i was afraid of a big mess if i only used one pan. So wonderful & made enough to share with friends & freeze some for later!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: UmmOmar
I have made this recipe several times. It is more of a cake than a brownie...but it is delicious and moist. I always use plain yogurt instead of the buttermilk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: SONYACASSLA
Good overall, but I was dissappointed with the frosing. I have made your recipe before and it was great. .Just remember to gradually add your cocoa , icing sugar and vanilla. It makes a big differnce in the frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: cat
MMM! this makes ALOT of brownie so if your just wanting a small portion recalculate. i was just trying to make enough for 2/4 and got so much rich chocolaty goodness i gave 3 portions away for the holidays. but it was GREAT! not a brownie but more like a heavy decadent ultra chocolate cake and the icing was awesome. of course i doubled the cocoa its the only way
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes