My Reviews (23)

Homemade Barbecue Sauce

A good universal barbecue sauce for any kind of meat you want to put on the barbie. Try it on ribs, chicken or even lamb.
Reviews (23)


17 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: Diane Barrett
This was great! I was out of barbeque sauce and didn't want to go to the store. So I tried Heather's sauce and it was not only delicious on my chicken, but easy too. I will stick with her sauce from now on - much better and tangier than bottled. Thanks Heather, Diane
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Abby Zeek
This was truly a great sauce! My family loved it.. It started off a little too sour for me so I added 3 more tablespoons of brown sugar... I used it on shredded beef... Yum!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Lee Ann Girard
After reading other reviews, I altered the amounts just a bit. I used about half the vinegar and a little less worchestire. I also used spicy brown mustard because I didn't have any powder. I added a little onion powder, minced garlic and hot sauce. Everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: MRSDDAVIS
Too sour!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: rileysmama
Way too vinegary. I had to add a lot more brown sugar to get the taste right...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: CCGAL628
Great sauce! Like one reviewer, I was out of BBQ sauce too and used this over country style ribs in the Crock pot added some sliced onions to the pot and salt & peppered the ribs before pouring sauce over. Reserved a little extra sauce for after to pour over the ribs before serving. Made an excellent easy home cooked dinner served w/ potatoes and greens.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
This was a good vinegar based sauce, however I used it on chicken. I think it would have been much better on pulled port. Because it is so tangy it has more of a pulled pork flavor. I will try again the next time I do pulled pork.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: SMOOSHCRICKETS
I liked the consistency of the sauce however I didn't enjoy the flavor too much. I felt that it was too sour and vinegary so I add a little bit more brown sugar. In addition, I added a tablespoon of garlic powder, 1/2 tablespoon of rosemary, some sage, thyme, and dill weed. It tasted a lot better
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: VALERIEE
Very simple and tasty barbeque sauce, thinner than store bought, but great taste...V
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2009
Reviewed by: sbk143
Whoa is this sauce SOUR!! I couldn't fix it with any amount of brown sugar!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes