My Reviews (92)

Pork Chops with Chinese Five Spice

Chinese five spice powder gives these pork chops a delicious flavour. Serve this with plain white rice and a simple vegetable side.
Reviews (92)


07 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: sugarcookiees
This, is the best dish ever. I'm taiwanese and this tastes EXACTLY like the local restaurants in taiwan. Thank you so much for putting this recipe up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Robert Barlow
I'll give this 4 stars. I live in Taiwan and this is ALMOST correct. In Taiwan it is hard to find white wine. Instead, and more commonly used is cooking rice wine (not Sake). I have also added crushed garlic cloves to the marinate (is you like garlic).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: tokienulv
I can't believe how great these pork chops tasted given the small amount of ingredients needed. I agreed with the reviewer that the trick is to use "thin-sliced" pork chops and to use Tapioca (sweet potato) starch. The only modification I would make is to use 1.5 tablespoon of sugar instead of the 1 tablespoon listed and that's just because I like it to have a sweeter taste and also, marinate it for at least 4 hours or more. I also seasoned the tapioca starch with some salt, pepper and chili pepper to give it a kick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: troikken
Excellent recipe! The five spice adds a new dimension to the overall flavour. To give it a slight Japanese feel I added fresh grated ginger (equal to the garlic) to the marinade. Well done on a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Chiflada
Absolutely fantastic!! Only three minor changes -- I marinated overnight, didn't use cornstarch, and I baked them instead of frying them. Excellent!! The aroma was of an asian restaurant!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: edamat
Very delicious! In addition: I pounded the pork chops to tenderize them and flatten them out (by rapid chopping them with the blunt edge of my knife) just like my grandma does Also, there's no need to add that much oil for the frying
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2011
Reviewed by: MILLIE CROSS
I used boneless pork chops. I increased the wine to 2 tbs. These were so good that last night I made it with boneless chicken breast cut into nuggets and toss in baggie with corn starch..then browned. Fantastic. Double the marinade and while meat is resting bring to boil and reduce and use as sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: JAN
My husband wanted me to give it a zero (he didn't like the smell or taste of the five-spice powder). My daughter thought it was OK, but she did use A-1 Sauce. I just took a bite and also thought it was OK. We love Oriental food, but I won't make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Kimberly Field
These were so easy and tasty. Only thing I did different was used honey instead of sugar. Had a little trouble with the crust sticking but think I can do better next time. I cut the chops in strips and served with sticky rice much like I would get in Thailand. Even though these are called Taiwanese Pork Chops they do a version of these all over SE Asia.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Suann
This is a simple marinade and the taste was GREAT. I did not have the Chinese five-spice on hand so I mixed it with the following: 1/4 t. each anise seed crushed (or powder if you have it), ground cloves, cinnamon, ginger. This worked very well and used boneless pork chops instead. Husband LOVED it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes