My Reviews (92)

Pork Chops with Chinese Five Spice

Chinese five spice powder gives these pork chops a delicious flavour. Serve this with plain white rice and a simple vegetable side.
Reviews (92)


14 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: CookingCutie
I made these for dinner once again an they were a hit! I advise you NOT to leave out the 5 spice powder...it's the ingredient that really "makes" this recipe. 5 spice powder has a distinct flavor and usually contains equal parts of cinnamon, anise, ginger, cloves, and fennel. I made a few alterations that you may find helpful:marinade the chops for at least 3 hours or better yet overnight,use a strainer to evenly coat the pork chops with cornstarch, use medium or thin cut chops (as thick chops take longer to cook and may dry out)and , use less oil to fry them. Our family enjoyed these porkchops and I look forward to making them again. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: menosfun
These chops turned out fantastic. I made a few changes to the original. I made it for two pork chops. I increased the 5 spice to about 1 1/2 tsp. and I used about a 1/4 cup of white wine. Cooking, I used a tblsp. of margarine and a little olive oil. Did a high heat sear about 1 min. each side. I then reduced heat to med., covered and cooked 5 min. each side. They were tender and juicy and really flavorful. I served with white rice and spicy Bok Choy which made a spicy kick to the fragrant meat. I will definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: NIKEJOJO
This dish was a huge hit with the hubby. The trick to this dish is 1)Use thin sliced pork chops, 2) make little slits on both sides, and 3) marinate for at least 3-4 hours. I didn't use as much oil for frying as they suggested, but it still turned out fine. Very flavorful!!! Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: pyromushroom
A great, authentic recipe that is delicious even with estimated proportions + common sense (the way I like it). It reminds me of my beloved Taiwanese childhood. DO NOT OMIT THE 5-SPICE: it "makes" this classic dish. The sweet potato starch instead of cornstarch is a wonderful addition to make this all-the-way authentic. If you can, serve with pickled cabbage and an egg hard-boiled in soy sauce and anise. I'd also recommend using VERY thin-cut bone-in pork chops if you can find them-- it makes a big difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Jim
When I was a child, my family moved to Taipei for a few years. The school I went to served these pork chops for lunch every Thursday, and to this day I can still remember how delicious they were. It's taken me 20 years to find a recipe, but this is the real deal. Just like I remember.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Carolyn Cerny Manley
Very easy to make and tasty. I cooked them using a non-stick cooking spray, not oil, so I could save calories.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Jennifer You
Excellent recipe for pork chops. I am Taiwanese and this tastes like pork chops that my mom would cook (I can't ever get a recipe from her because she never measures anything). Thanks for the share!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: becci
These turned out great..Thanks for the recipe.. By the way... Why would anyone over/under rate something they haven't even tried?? You're not helping anyone..an unknown opinion is worthless.. If you have something good/bad to say, rate it AFTER trying...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2005
Reviewed by: MAY27
This was great! I followed the recipe, adding a little white pepper to the marinade. I served with white rice and stir fried baby bok choy. My boyfriend and I loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Jessie
Yummy! It smelled soooo good while it was cooking and the hubby knew it exactly what it was. We have only had them out at the Chinese diners. I don't know why my breading was falling off while cooking though... If it stayed on, I would have given it five stars. Maybe it was a chef error? Anyone that can give me insight on this I would really appreciate it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes