My Reviews (93)

Sweet Potato Cinnamon Muffins

These are delicious muffins that are a little different through the inclusion of sweet potato. Best served warm.
Reviews (93)


16 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: SUMMER33NY
This is a great recipe! I skinned and boiled the sweet potatoes until they were soft.. then chopped them and put them in the blender until smooth. I used whole wheat flour as oppossed to white flour, did not you the allspice and added about half a teaspoon more of both cinnamon and nutmeg and cut down on the sugar. Came out delicious. Baking time for more like 40-45 minutes than 30.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CookinginFL
SO GOOD! I used a 40 oz. can of yams (drained & mashed), and added 1/2 c. milk...perfect - nice and moist, but not dense. I was able to make 6 jumbo-sized muffins & 5 regular-sized muffins. The jumbo muffins took 32 minutes, and the regular took 28 minutes. Also, used dried cranberries instead of raisins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: mjmartin006
I love this recipe, it is one of my favorites on here. I have made it several times, the only changes I make is I add 1 Tablespoon of Cinnamon and add 1/2 cup of milk, then bake it about 15 mins longer than the recipe calls for. I didn't have raisins, either so I added more walnuts. They are great for breakfast or a quick snack.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: SHERI BERGEN
These muffins were so moist and delicious, although admittedly a bit heavy. I did use whole wheat flour, which may have made them heavier, but they were still so good! I used 3 average-sized sweet potatoes and shreded them finely in the food processor. I'll make these again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: CANDIEB
Yum! Finally a way to get my kids to eat sweet potatoes! I left out the nuts, added some milk and cooked them for 15 extra minutes, they were perfect and my kids think they are cupcakes Surprisingly sweet and taste great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I didn't have fresh sweet potato but I did have mashed. I used 12 oz, with a little butter that had been mashed in. I changed out butter for the oil and added in one mashed banana and one chopped, peeled apple. It smells in-sane. This recipe made 19 medium sized muffins. I'll update this tomorrow on how we all liked them, I can't imagine we wouldn't.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: AMYFLOYD
I made these for my sons, ages 3 and 2, and they loved them! I didn't find them heavy at all. One large sweet potato provided the 4 cups, and shredding them was made easier with my food processor. Excellent recipe that I will use many more times.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: MOMMYTLWELLS
My family loved these! I used leftover pureed sweet potatoes and omitted the allspice and nuts. In the end I added a little milk to moisten up the batter. They raised perfectly and smelled like heaven while baking. The taste was just as pleasing. Will make again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: JMISSNER
The taste of these are very good. My only complaint is the texture is a little dense, but since they pack in so much beta-carotene, I can live with it. My kids liked them too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: WLDIETZ
Wonderful spice blend and what a wonderful aroma! My husband could barely wait for them to cool down to an edible temperature... When I first combined the dry and wet ingredients I thought I would need to add more liquid, but after a good stir the batter came together nicely. Had to bake them a little longer than called for. I'll definitely make them again. And again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes