My Reviews (52)

Sunflower Oat Biscuits

This is a very sweet biscuit with toasted salted sunflower seeds. You can also make them without the coconut for a chewier biscuit.
Reviews (52)


28 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
Light, buttery, crispy, crackly, chewy, pretty and delicious all describe this cookie. I used chocolate covered, candy coated sunflower seeds and the optional coconut which made these especially pretty and different. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of salt to heighten flavor. I refrigerated my dough about an hour, used a small cookie scoop not bothering to flatten them at all, and found they spread just the right amount - not too flat, not too poofy. Nice balance of flavors between the oatmeal, sunflower seeds and coconut. I would have to call this a nearly perfect cookie. I dare you to eat just one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: FLIGYRL
I made these cookies with whole wheat flower and they turned out great! I also left out the coconut. I brought them to work and they were a hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: sunflowereyesmom
Yum...I love sunflower seeds and oatmeal cookies and this is a great mixture of both...I went a bit further I added mini chocolate chips and turned them into a bar cookie...it is a great easy way to get a great cookie and takes less time...Baked approx 20 minutes...depends on your oven. Baked the bar cookie on a extra large professional bakers sheet and covered with aluminum foil, inverted when cool..and peeled off the alumimun foil...lots of bars..THANKS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Melanie Evans
These are great! 4 stars because they are a little on the dry side. I feel like they could use some olive oil, more butter, or something? I added 1 cup raisins & 1 cup very finely chopped sunflower seeds. I used Amish vanilla extract, which gives it a nice rich flavor. My children love these and I don't feel as guilty about the sugar and fat when the "healthy" ingredients far outway the "unhealthy". Sunflower seeds and whole oats are so beneficial to our health, and I think most parents would find it hard to get their child to eat a handful of sunflower seeds alone! Great recipe. Will make again, next time adding some extra virgin olive oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Patt
Many people tried these cookies and everyone thought they were awesome! I used 1 c. whole wheat flour and added a bit of ground flax. Will make again for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: jml
excellent! I used salted roasted sunflower seeds and they add such a delicious and different crunch. The second batch I made I added m&ms. I can see all sorts of yummy additions...all very good. Easy to make too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2011
Reviewed by: KNickodemus
Wonderful cookie! I did not add coconut...so no comment there. I did not have vanilla so I added almond extract with gave the cookie another layer of nutty flavor! YUM. Then I experimented.... I made some plain (my husband will love) I made some with chocolate chips -- they are good I made some with butterscotch chips - fabulous I made some with raisins - awesome. What a GREAT recipe! Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: abapplez
The perfect cookie. Everyone loved these. They are slightly chewy, a little crispy on the outside and the buttery, nutty flavor is delicious. Followed the recipe, including the optional coconut (I will include it next time again) except used fall colored chocolate covered sunflower seeds. These were gone in one day and hubby and all the kids have asked for them again. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: johnnabonna
These were okay, but it could be b/c I used lowfat butter and Splenda in them. I might try again but I will try it with the real stuff.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2003
Reviewed by: Mama Cass
I made these cookies to use up a bag of sunflower seeds I had purchased for another recipe. Usually my family dislikes nuts and seeds, but they loved these cookies! Next time I may try adding raisins, as suggested, or some other type of dried fruit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes