My Reviews (128)

Chicken Stuffed Zucchini

Try this for a very easy and light dinner or lunch. Zucchini is stuffed with chicken sausage meat and baked.
Reviews (128)


24 May 2018
Reviewed by: sylvia.amar13
Very good!
 
09 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah
I made some tweaks only because my 2 zucchini were quite small, and this recipe didn't steer me wrong! I basically halved all the other ingredients, left out zucchini in the stuffing mix, used dried basil (1/2 tsp, plus a 1/2 tsp dried oregano), and left the garlic at the full 3 cloves. We couldn't find just one link of chicken sausage, so we used regular Italian sausage. Oh boy was this tasty! One last tweak, I didn't want to try and use just a part of a can of tomatoes, so I used 1 large Roma tomato, finely diced and tossed it in with the onions to cook them down. Deglazing the pan with chicken broth is a taste booster as well. I can't wait to make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Lunafischh
This was delicious! I made a few changes based on what I had on hand that turned out rather well. First, I had Italian zucchini ( we call them hand gernades) so I hollowed them out and stuffed them with the filling. Before placing them in the oven, I brushed the outsides with olive oil. Next, I didn't have chicken sausage so I poached a chicken breast with garlic and onion and shredded it. Then I added Italian seasoning to the mixture since the meat did not have the sausage seasoning. Finally, I was low in parmesan cheese, so I threw in some mazzarella. They were amazing! My husband doesn't typically like veggies and he loved it! I served it with pasta and tomato sause and garlic bread. I am actually going to be making this again tonight! Thanks for an awesome dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Rock_lobster
Stuffed Zucchini w/ Chick Sausage Haiku: "This felt 'hors d'oeuvres-ey.' Too much leftover filling. But it was still good." There was something that tasted exceptionally rich about this dish, that made my family and I feel guilty for eating it as an entire meal, and not as a tiny-bite appetizer. It's not that it's unhealthy in the slightest, but it was just very, well, rich. There was also way too much stuffing mixture called for to fill 2 zucchini halves, so I just mashed up what was left and baked "balls" alongside the zucchini. I didn't change anything about the recipe except to bake it longer at a lower temp. I think if I made this again, I'd sub ground beef for the sausage and cheddar for the parm, otherwise, the directions, prep, and end result was pretty tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: TALULABELLE28
LOVED THIS!! my whole family enjoyed it (they are big zucchini fans) and the extra crunch from the bread crumbs/parmesan cheese make it so delish. i had a lot of stuffing left, and i followed the measurements exactly. i stuffed 3 zucchinis and only cut up two of the slices of zucchini for the stuffing. i still need to figure out how to calculate the measurements so i won't have so much leftover. i will just be using the leftover for a brunch scramble tomorrow. i also used a diced roma tomato since i didn't want too many juices from canned tomato. i will be making this regularly and more servings! we did not have enough!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Perry133
I used this recipe as starting point,but did my own thing. Just scooped out the seeds of the zucchini,but left the rest intact. Used precooked chicken apple sausage,diced in the mix with fresh corn cut from the con. Amazing! The fresh basil is a must. Enjoy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2011
Reviewed by: Ken Mullins
Great meal. I would give this 5 stars, but the directions were confusing. At the end of the first paragraph it says "Chop up the long slices of Zucchini." ??? I instead chopped up the flesh I scooped out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2011
Reviewed by: EILISH40
This is an extremely tasty dish but had no idea what size of zucchini to use hence had leftover filling. Maybe the contributor could enlighten everyone as to the size of the vegetable. Again, the filling is wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: mnbsmom
This was delicious. The sweet squash was a nice counter to the heat of the pepper. The only thing I changed was to use squash I found at a fall farmer's market and cut back on the red pepper flakes. Also, I cut the squash in half, microwaved them for about 7 minutes, covered, with a little water and then stuffed them and baked them for 1/2 hour. I used this as a main dish, but they were small portions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2011
Reviewed by: Tina Griffin
I'm glad I read the reviews that mentioned the amount of leftover stuffing. I used 4 medium zucchini and the amount of stuffing was perfect. I also used Italian turkey sausage because that was all i could find. 2 teaspoons of crushed red pepper might be too much for most people, but my husband and I spicy food so it was delicious to us. This is a KEEPER!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes