My Reviews (22)

Easy Strawberry Cake

My kids love this cake which is very easy to make. It's made with marshmallows and frozen strawberries.
Reviews (22)


18 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Jane
This is one of my most favorite recipes, but I do change it a little to make it quicker and simpler. The only thing I keep the same is the marshmallows, strawberries, and Jello. Skip all the rest of the ingredients and use a box of Duncan Hines yellow cake mix and prepare it like it says on the box for a 9x13 cake. Pour the prepared batter over the marshmallows, then the strawberry mixture on top of the batter and bake like it says on the box. Test it with a toothpick taking care to avoid the marshmallows that rose to the top. Leave it in the pan and cut serving pieces from there.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Krysdyer
We all love this recipe. Most of the time I make it exactly as written, but the last time I decided to shortcut the shortcut cake and I used a box yellow cake mix. Blah! Didn't like it at all that way. So in my opinion it's WAY better to make it as written. YUM! Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: GARDENMOMBETH
This was a good cake. Very tasty and moist. I had to cook it a little longer. Top with cool whip. I also used fresh strawberries, just added a little sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Aurora
I made some changes to this recipe. I used fresh berries, not frozen. My other changes were in the interests of making it healthier. I used white whole wheat flour, not all purpose. I used only one egg and 1/3 cup egg whites instead of three. I used fat free vanilla yogurt instead of shortening. Of course the milk was fat free and my the jello was the sugar free stuff. Barring tonight, I had not had this dessert in over 25 years, but even making it a healthier lighter version, I still see why it was my favorite. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: TEXSUE
I lost my copy of this recipe so was so happy to find it here. Thank you so much. If you haven't tried this recipes, it is wonderful. Especially enjoy in when fresh strawberries aren't available
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Traycee
I came upon this recipe and I made it for a family gathering. It was sooo good everyone wanted the recipe. It was great and my boys and I dont care for strawberries but with this cake it was Great...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Athena
This is one of my favorite recipes. I still have the original recipe torn from a PILLSBURY flour bag about 50 years ago.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: En bonne sante
I had lots of strawberries left over and tried this using the cake mix hint from the previous review (Thanks!!!). My only difference was that I did not have frozen strawberry so I mixed one box of jello with 1/2 c boiling water and 1/2 c cold water-then added that to sliced strawberries. Prepared and baked as directed then topped with cool whip. I cannot tell you how much a hit this was!! Adults and kids alike all enjoyed this--tasted better than any strawberry shortcake!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
My frozen strawberries were whole so I gave them a quick rinse (to knock the ice crystals off) & sliced them in the food processor. Then I sprinkled them w/ a little sugar & let them sit in the food processor until thawed. I took Jane's suggestion to make it easier & used a white, boxed cake mix. After baking, the strawberries were at the bottom of the cake (w/ quite a bit of juice, which may put off some people, but we liked it) & the marshmallows had risen to the top & melted, creating a marshmallowy crust. Yummm! I drizzed a pool of strawberry puree (the kind you use in mixed drinks) onto a plate, added the cake & topped it w/ a dollop of whipped cream & a fanned-out strawberry. Thanks for the recipe Maureen!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2000
Reviewed by: phyllis
VERY GOOD --I MADE IT OFTEN FOR KIDS BIRTHDAY PARTIES--THIS A GREAT CAKE
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes