My Reviews (43)

Mussels with Fennel and Ouzo

Ouzo and fennel add interesting licorice flavour notes to steamed mussels. Serve with crusty bread for mopping up the sauce.
Reviews (43)


19 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: PRINCESS20NY
If you are a mussel fan you will love this dish, it's also a great dish to impress your guests. Looks and tastes complicated, but it really isn't . I would suggest making sure that when you add the fennel it is very thinly sliced, and after dropping the fennel into the pan, test it with a fork and don't add the other ingredients until the fennel has become a bit soft. Muscles are delicate and the sauce should be too so as to complement them with a delicate sauce as well. The first time I made this the fennel was still as crispy and I had realized my mistake. The second time I let the fennel cook a bit and all around it came out spectacular. A+
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: Maggy
The recipe was great, easy to make and fabulous in flavor. I opted out out on the Ouzo, but it still tasted great and I've made it several times since. Happy Cooking!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: CC<3's2bake
At first I was skeptical about the mix of flavours in this recipe and couldn't imagine them marrying well with mussels, but it was amazing. (I followed the recipe exactly and used the fresh live mussels). Twelve out of the twelve I served it to loved it. It deserves five stars. Ingredients are easy to come by, it is quick to prepare, and is an easy one to impress with!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2008
Reviewed by: Jessica Hill
This was my first attempt at preparing mussels, and they came out great. I love the broth! Didn't use the ouzo, though. I think the anise flavor would have been a little overpowering. I just substituted more white wine, and it was excellent.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: MsLovely
Oh my god, this is the best mussels recipe that I've ever had. I put a little twist with this recipe,because I wasn't able to find the ouzo in the local market.So I added some Jagermeilser because it has the same licuouis taste like the ouzo and I also added some fresh cilantro. You will have people begging for this dish.ouzo is a greek liquier
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: MrsRPM
OUTSTANDING!!!!! I'd give this 10 stars if I could. I made exactly as written, and made sure that I sauteed the fennel for awhile before adding the other ingredients, as per other reviews. Don't worry about too much licorice taste. It all mellows out and you are left with a simply superb dish that is 5 star worthy....TRULY!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Harriet Green
Mussels, what more can I say, I love them! This recipe was delightful and I like the ouzo touch. Nothing can go wrong with steaming mussels in any ingredients of your choice, I use varied recipes and always enjoy the soup which the mussel water helps to improve. As children in France we used the shells as spoons to eat the steamed mussels and the soup. It has to be mentioned that unopened shells MUST be discarded. Tip; I steam mussels (and clams) in a covered WOK, allows them to spread and steam better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: BEACHEMPIRE
i'v made this recipe and it taste delicous and wonderfull
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: GNFSHN4
Excellent from top to bottom--cannot improve on this recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Beth
Delicious! First time making mussels. Turned out great. Followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes