My Reviews (91)

Sirloin Tips with Portobello Mushroom Sauce

This is a pretty straightforward way of barbecuing sirloin tips but with a great mushroom and burgundy sauce.
Reviews (91)


09 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: KIRSTENS18
The sauce for this recipe was delicious! I served it over filet mignon instead of with the tips and it was wonderful. We used 1 1/2 cups of the burgundy wine and the flavor was just right. Also used regular sliced mushrooms instead of portabella. Will definitely be making this one again. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Alison M
This was great! Granted I made A LOT of changes but the end product was perfect for my family. I had a pkg of 1lb frozen cubed chuck roast that I just through in the slow cooker still frozen. I added 4 large portobello mushrooms caps sliced on top of the meat and 4 cups beef broth mixed with about 1 T. of minced garlic, about 1/2c red cooking wine and some thyme. Put the broth mixture over the mushrooms and meat and topped the mushrooms off with 4 divided Tbs of butter. I set the slow cooker on low for 6hrs but really it was done after only 4. To serve it I gave the kids just the cubed meat with ketchup and the mushrooms on the side along with steamed edamame. For the hubbie and me I made garlic toast on French bread with mozzarella cheese and layered with the meat and mushrooms to make a sandwich and then served with a side of au jus. Next time I'll use 2lb meat and maybe 5 or 6 mushrooms caps. Thanks for the starting off point! Update: I made this for a group of 6 adults and 3 kids and used 4 lbs cubed beef with 8 large sliced portobello mushrooms caps, and 3 pkgs of sliced baby Bella mushrooms (that I had to add to the slow cooker over time as the other mushrooms shrank and made room for more). I added the red wine, beef broth, butter and garlic as I had previously but adjusted for the extra food and again served over garlic bread with melted cheese on it and a side of au jus. Also I made it in the slow cooker cooked on low for about 8 hrs. This was great and a huge h
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: ShellyS
This was wonderful! I followed it pretty much exactly as far as ingrediants,except pinot noir for the wine and beef consomme for the broth and no salt. And since it's not grilling weather here I used pressure cooker. On top of red skinned garlic mash and broccoli wow! Would make a great Valentines dinner! mmmmm......
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Marni Nelson
I LOVED this recipe! I grilled a rib eye to rare and then cut it in to bitesize pieces and just warmed it in the finished sauce. I used 1.5 cups of chianti and a can and a half of beef stock. I also replaced the portabellos with presliced crimini mushrooms and served it all over egg noodles. I also added three cloves of garlic. I thought it was so yummy and easy. It is a little salty but I like that so if you are sensitive to salt, I'd do the low sodium beef broth. I also reserved a little stock to whisk the flour in before adding it to the reduction to avoid lumps. Worked great! I will definately make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Stefan
Tried this using 2 pounds of tri-tip steak I had in the freezer and cooked it all day in the crock pot with salt and pepper. Then used the juices as part of the broth and mixed the flour in a little water before adding it at the end. It was wonderful with buttered noodles and the roasted steak was falling-apart tender. Bonus: the house smelled wonderful all day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: marcialynn99
Tried it once on my family, am making for company soon. So decadent! Used filet mignon (seasoned with a bit of olive oil and steak rub) and regular mushrooms, a nice cab, and cornstarch instead of flour. Otherwise followed the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: jeyeiter
The sauce makes this dish!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: HISMISSIE
I haven't used this recipe in a long time and it was as good as I remembered. My guests loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: BBURG_HOKIES
Delicious taste! I used Crimini mushrooms instead of portabellos and Merlot wine instead of Cabernet because that is what I had on hand. My only recommendation would be to serve immediately because once I added my meat to the sauce it continued cooking and got a little tougher than we usually like it. Good recipe! Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: LUX
I think this recipe is just wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes